La Dolfina Polo Ranch power through Palermo and now await zone decider against La Dolfina

The 126th Argentine Open, the most important polo tournament in the world, continued on Saturday in Palermo. For a third year in a row, ten teams are competing for the prestigious title. Defending champions La Dolfina are playing for their seventh consecutive championship.

La Dolfina Polo Ranch secured another solid win, with a wide goal difference, this time against La Irenita, on ground two. La Dolfina Polo Ranch showed great teamwork and high efficiency in terms of scoring. It’s worth noting that they reach Saturday’s Zone A decider match against La Dolfina in great shape, both in terms of level and horsepower. In 2018, they played La Dolfina earlier in the tournament, but this year they have the chance of playing for the first place in the league. 

Up next, La Dolfina defeated La Aguada. Even though a wider difference was expected on the scoreboard, the truth is that La Aguada were able to cut La Dolfina rhythm of play, and the Cañuelas based foursome couldn’t shine in the way they usually do.  


La Dolfina Polo Ranch: Guillermo Terrera 8 (3 goals), Juan Britos 8 (3), Diego Cavanagh 8 (9, 6 penalties and 1 safety penalty), Jejo Taranco 8 (1). Total: 32.

La Irenita: Tito Ruiz Guiñazú 8 (1 penalty), Juan Jauretche 6 (2), Clemente Zavaleta 7, Diego Araya 7 (3 penalties). Total: 28.

Score La Dolfina Polo Ranch: 2-1, 6-1, 9-2, 10-3, 11-3, 12-3, 14-4, 16-6.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva & Martín Pascual.

Third man: Gastón Lucero.

Best Polo Argentino of the match: Fax Cherokee (Nómade x Cheeta), played by Diego Cavanagh.

Nomination 1: Open Medallón (Open Sunset x Ellerstina Medalla), played by Guillermo Terrera.

Nomination 2: Irenita Cuatrera (Dolfina Cuarteto x Irenita Certera), played by Diego Araya.


La Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (9 goals, 6 penalties and 2 safety penalties), David Stirling 10 (2), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (4), Juan Martín Nero 10 (3). Total: 40.

La Aguada: Lucas Díaz Alberdi 7 (1 goal), Alfredo Bigatti 8 (1), Alejandro Novillo Astrada 8 (4, 2 penalties), Nacho Novillo Astrada 9. Total: 32.

Score La Dolfina: 1-0, 5-1, 7-1, 10-2, 12-4, 13-4, 15-4, 18-6.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & José I. Araya.

Third man: Gonzalo López Vargas.

Best Polo Argentino of the match: Dolfina Roxy (Open Chimento x Hanna Montana), played by Adolfo Cambiaso.

Nomination 1: Mas Claudia (Open Poncho x Losmachitos Maradona), played by Adolfo Cambiaso.

Nomination 2: JM Varsovia (Dolfina Cuarteto x Viudita), played by Juan Martín Nero.

The Argentine Open resumes on Sunday:

2pm: Las Monjitas vs La Natividad

4:30pm: Ellerstina vs Cría Yatay

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.