La Irenita & La Natividad get tickets to Palermo!

On wednseday November 6, the two qualified teams to Palermo were revealed. Seven teams up to 29-goals were in participation in the Qualification Tournament 2019.

First up, La Irenita—who played the Argentine Open in 2016 and 2017, and in 2018 under the name Alegría La Irenita—faced La Dolfina III, a team made up of four players who have yet to compete in Palermo. The only player who has not played the Argentine Open in the Mac Donough organisation is Juan Jauretche.

La Dolfina III got off to a solid start, securing a 5-1 advantage in the second chukka. But from then on, La Irenita began to show their strength. They scored four consecutive goals in the third while holding La Dolfina III scoreless. La Irenita were consistent in attack, and knew how to keep their opponents at bay. La Dolfina III made a comeback in the sixth, but La Irenita kept their cool and took the victory.

Next, La Natividad took on La Irenita II. Six potential Palermo debutants were on the field ready to fight for a spot in the prestigious tournament. The sheer talent, control, and winning mentality of La Natividad pinned them as favourites, and the Castagnola brothers surprised everyone once agin with their cool and collected composures. Thanks to fantastic plays by Matías Torres Zavaleta, who gave a great performance, and the strength of the number 4, South African Nachi Du Plessis, Camilo and Bartolomé Castagnola were able to shine, securing a place in the Argentine Open. Camilo has an eye and a power that is enviable in someone so young (he is just 16 years old), and 18-year old Bartolomé plays polo with the rationality of someone who has been playing at the highest level for decades.

Therefore, the dream of Juan Jauretche, Camilo Castagnola, Matías Torres Zavaleta and Bartolomé Castagnola of playing the Argentine Open, come true.

Afterwards the draw determined that La Irenita will share Zone A with La Dolfina, La Dolfina Polo Ranch, La Aguada and La Ensenada, while La Natividad will be part of Zone B together with Ellerstina, Las Monjitas, Cría Yatay and La Albertina.


  • La Irenita: Tito Ruiz Guiñazú 8 (5 goals, 2 penalties), Juan Jauretche 6 (1), Clemente Zavaleta 7 (3), Diego Araya 7 (3, 2 penalties). Total: 28.
  • La Dolfina III: Tomás Fernández Llorente 7 (3 goals), Gringo Colombres 7 (2), Isidro Strada 7 (4, 2 penalties and 1 safety), Joao Paulo Ganon 7 (1). Total: 28.
  • Score La Irenita: 1-3, 2-5, 6-5, 8-5, 10-6, 11-9, 12-10.
  • Umpires: Gastón Lucero and Martín Pascual.                 Third man: Martín Goti.
  • BPP Polo Argentino: Irenita Providencia (Open Trueno x Irenita Suerte). Player: Diego Araya.


  • La Natividad: Camilo  Castagnola 6 (7 goals, 4 penalties), Matías Torres Zavaleta 7 (3), Bartolito Castagnola 7 (3), Nachi du Plessis 8. Total: 28.
  • La Irenita II: Santiago Loza 7 (2 goals), Rodrigo Andrade 8 (3), Mín Podestá 7 (3), Jacinto Crotto 7 (1 penalty). Total: 29.
  • Score La Natividad: 2-0, 4-1, 8-3, 10-4, 11-6, 12-7, 13-9.
  • Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva and Rafael Silva.                 Third man: José I. Araya.
  • BPP Polo Argentino: Latia Ramona (Open Cabernet x Future Rayuela). Player: Bartolito Castagnola.

The Qualification Tournament will end up on Thursday 6 in Pilar:

11am: La Esquina vs Los Machitos

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.