La Natividad wins Junior Argentine Open

The Junior Argentine Open came to an end on Monday at the AAP in Pilar with the match where La Natividad beat La Dolfina 15 goals to 8. Both teams are based in Cañuelas. Five teams, up 23 goals, were in competition. All players were below 21 years of age. 

It was a very good match, open and very well played. Thus, Bartolito Castagnola took the title for a third consecutive year, winning it also with his brother Camilo in 2018. It is worth remember that Juan Martín Zubía was really close to win it for six years in a row.

Most of the players that took part of this game will be taking over the main stages of polo in the upcoming years even though many of them have already won many important championships this year such as the Gold Cup for the British Open (brothers Barto and Camilo Castagnola), and the President’s Cup (Ghantoot) and La Cañada Open, the latters also with Rufino Bensadon.


La Natividad: Camilo Castagnola 6 (9 goals, 5 penalties), Rufino Bensadón 5 (2), Bartolomé Castagnola 7 (4), Felipe Dabas 5. Total: 23.

La Dolfina: Manuel Sundblad 5, Simón Prado 5 (1 goal), Poroto Cambiaso 4 (1), Juan Martín Zubía 8 (6, 4 penalties). Total: 22.

Score La Natividad: 2-3, 4-4, 7-4, 11-6, 13-7, 15-8.

Umpires: Federico Martelli and Guillermo Villanueva.         Third man: Gonzalo López Vargas.

MVP: Bartolomé Castagnola.

The other teams:

El Overo Z7: Lucas Monteverde (n) 3, Victorino Ruiz Jorba 6, Benjamín Panelo 4, Tomás Panelo 5. Total: 18.

Coronel  Suárez: Santiago Harriott 3, Segundo Amadori 3, Juan E. Harriott (h) 5, Jacinto Amadori 5. Total: 16.

Chapaleufú Las Alazanas: Federico Panzillo 3, Tomás Schwencke Larraín 4, Gonzalo Ferrari 4, Javier Guerrero (h) 4. Total: 15.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.