Rosters and Teams Announced For Sunny Hale’s Legacy WCT Finals

Teams and rosters were announced for the much-anticipated Sunny Hale’s Legacy Women’s Championship Tournament (WCT) Finals Saturday at Grand Champions Polo Club. This polo event, now in its 13th year, was created by Hall of Famer Sunny Hale.


The WCT Finals has attracted players from throughout the U.S. and internationally including 10-goaler Nina Clarkin of Great Britain. The open division features WPL and San Saba. The 16-goal division features Blue Pegasus and Melinda’s Prospect.


In last year’s event open final, Chateau D’esclans won the title with a 7-3 victory over CrossFit El Cid. Tournament MVP and Captain MVP Nina Clarkin was joined by three talented teenagers: two-time Argentine Open champion Mia Cambiaso, the game MVP; Mia Novillo Astrada and Riley Ganzi.


The tournament is named in honor of legendary Hall of Famer Sunset “Sunny” Hale. The largest polo league in the world has grown in popularity since its inception in 2005. The WCT Finals, which started in 2006, has adult and junior qualifiers for U.S. and international players with more than 20 qualifiers in the U.S. alone including this year’s Susan G. Komen Women’s U.S. Open, won by Hawaii Polo Life.


Hale, the first woman in U.S. history to win the U.S. Open in 2000 with Outback and part-time Wellington resident, died February 26, 2017 in Norman, Okla. due to complications from cancer. She was 48.


Women’s polo remains the largest growing sector in polo, aided by the WCT Series which has helped consolidate women’s polo and promote high quality competition throughout the world, along with the newly-formed WIPN (Women’s International Polo Network).


Open Division:

WPL: Delfina Blaquier, Mili Sanchez, Mia Cambiaso, Nina Clarkin.

San Saba: Dawn Jones, Sarah Siegel, Lia Salvo, Clarissa Echezarreta.


16-goal Division:

Blue Pegasus: Mia Bray, Millie Hine, Alyson Poor, Jennifer Williams.

Melinda’s Prospect: Malia Bryan, Cindy Halle, Anna Winslow, Kylie Sheehan.


The day kicks off with pre-game ceremonies at 12:30 p.m. Games are 12:35 p.m. and 1:30 p.m. with the awards ceremony at 2:45.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.