San Saba and Melinda’s Prospect Capture Sunny Hale’s Legacy WCT Finals

Last Saturday, the Sunny Hale’s Legacy WCT Finals at Grand Champions Polo Club was a day to remember the greatest women’s polo player and visionary of all-time. There were tears and laughter when players, friends and sponsors started talking about her influence and sharing stories about her. But above all there was great women’s polo played during the open and 16-goal division finals on Saturday.


Hale, the first woman in U.S. history to win the U.S. Open in 2000 with Outback and part-time Wellington resident, died February 26, 2017 in Norman, Oklahoma due to complications from cancer. She was 48.


The WCT Finals attracted players from throughout the U.S. and internationally including 10-goaler Nina Clarkin of Great Britain. San Saba (Dawn Jones, Clarissa Echezarreta, Lia Salvo, Sarah Wiseman) defeated WPL (Delfina Blaquier, Courtney Asdourian, Nina Clarkin, Milli Sanchez), 6-4, to win the open division.


Lia Salvo scored a game-high four goals, including back-to-back goals to clinch the victory. Jones and Echezarreta each had one goal. For WPL, Clarkin and Asdourian each had two goals.


Melinda’s Prospect (Cindy Halle, Malia Bryan, Kylie Sheehan, Anna Winslow) defeated Blue Pegasus (Jennifer Williams, Kerstie Allen,  Millie Hine, Alyson Poor), 8-5.5 to capture the 16-goal division.


Women’s polo remains the largest growing sector in polo, aided by the WCT Series which has helped consolidate women’s polo and promote high quality competition throughout the world, along with the newly-formed WIPN.



San Saba: Dawn Jones, Sarah Siegel, Lia Salvo, Clarissa Echezarreta.

WPL: Delfina Blaquier, Mili Sanchez, Mia Cambiaso, Nina Clarkin.

MVP: Sarah Wiseman.

BPP: Resynosa, played in the third chukker by Jones.

APHA BPP: Panamana, played by Clarkin and owned by La Dolfina.


16-goal Division: Melinda’s Prospect 8-5.5 Blue Pegasus

Melinda’s Prospect: Malia Bryan, Cindy Halle, Anna Winslow, Kylie Sheehan.

Blue Pegasus: Mia Bray, Millie Hine, Alyson Poor, Jennifer Williams.

MVP: Kylie Sheehan.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.