UK High Goal Update

Action at Cowdray & Berkshire
The UK high goal season is fully underway with matches being played for The Prince of Wales Trophy at The Royal County of Berkshire Polo Club and for The Murus Sanctus Trippetts Challenge for The James Wentworth Stanley Cup at Cowdray Park Polo Club.The first Trippetts Challenge matches got underway over the weekend, with Murus Sanctus defeating Talandracas, 8-7 in the first match of the tournament on Saturday 11 May.

The following day, La Indiana defeated La Bamba de Areco 10-9 and Talandracas defeated Scone, 12-11. The Trippetts Challenge action continues on Wednesday with Murus Sanctus vs La Bamba de Areco and on Thursday Scone will face La Indiana.Similarly, The Prince of Wales Trophy is in full swing at The Berkshire. The tournament began on Wednesday 8 May and saw Dubai defeat 2018 Prince of Wales Trophy champions, Monterosso, by just one goal with a narrow 15-14 win. The second match, played on Thursday 9 May, saw VS King Power defeat Marchfield 11-9. Over the weekend two matches were played on Sunday 12 May, in the first match Emlor defeated UAE 11-10 and later in the day, title holders Monterosso took an 8-7 win against Park Place. The Prince of Wales action continues on Wednesday with three matches: VS King Power vs UAE (at King Power), Emlor vs Marchfield (at RCBPC) and Dubai vs Park Place (at Dubai).The Finals will be played this weekend, on Saturday 18 May at RCBPC with the Subsidiary Final at 11am followed by the Final at 3pm.

The Murus Sanctus Trippetts Challenge Teams:Talandracas (22): Edouard Carmignac (0), Francisco Elizalde (8), Santiago Toccalino (7) & Julian ‘Negro’ de Lusarreta (7)Murus Sanctus (22): Corinne Ricard (0), Facundo Sola (7), Gonzalito Pieres (9) & Tommy Beresford (6)La Indiana (22): Michael Bickford (1), Jimbo Fewster (3), Rodrigo Andrade (8) & Facundo Pieres (10)La Bamba De Areco (22): Jean-François Decaux (0), Kian Hall (3), David ‘Pelón’ Stirling (9) & Juan Martín Nero (10)Scone (22): David Paradice (0), Nico Pieres (9), James Beim (7) & James Harper (6) The Prince of Wales Trophy Teams:Marchfield (22): Saad Audeh (0), Guillermo Terrera (7), Pablo Mac Donough (10) & Manuel Plaza (5VS King Power (22): Top Srivaddhanaprabha (0), Juan Martín Zubía (6), Polito Pieres (9) & Marcos Di Paola (7)UAE (21): Lucas Monteverde Jr. (2), Tom Brodie (3), Santiago Toccalino (7) & Guillermo ‘Sapo’ Caset (9)Emlor (22): Spencer McCarthy (0), Alfredo Bigatti (7), Agustín Merlos (8) & Fred Mannix Jnr (7)Park Place (22): Andrey Borodin (0), Juan Britos (7), Hilario Ulloa (10) & Byron Watson (5)Dubai (20): Pier Andrea (1), Camilo Castagnola (5), Bartolito Castagnola (6) & Nachi Du Plessis (8Monterosso (22): Alessandro Bazzoni (0), Juan Gris Zavaleta (7), Cubi Toccalino (8) & Joaquín Pittaluga (7) 

Photograph: Action from the first Trippetts Challenge match, Murus Sanctus vs Talandracas. By Clive Bennett Photography

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.