Westchester Cup returns to America

The Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA) and the United States Polo Association (USPA) are pleased to announce that the historical Westchester Cup will return to the US, on Sunday, April 28 to be held at International Polo Club Palm Beach in Wellington, Florida.

The Westchester Cup took place for the first time ever in 1886, and has been played 18 times throughout its history, but five of which have taken place since World War II. England is the current title holder, after the, who defeated a US lineup comprised by Jeff Hall, Peke Gonzalez, Nic Roldan and Julio Arellano in 2018.

This year, the USPA announced a foursome that will feature Geronimo Obregon, Peke Gonzalez, Mike Azzaro and Jared Zenni with Julio Arellano as the coach. Costi Caset, Matt Coppola and Jeff Blake will be the alternates. US currently has a 10-8 record wins over England, and the last time they lifted the coveted trohpy was in 1992, when Rob Walton, Owen Rinehart, Adam Snow and John Gobin emerged victorious after a thrilling double overtime victory. The American team will be hosted at  International Polo Club Palm Beach, where pregame practices will take place as well.

In addition, the USPA is pleased to announce that a team of young Americans will compete for the Junior Westchester Cup against an English junior team, in a match that will also be played at IPC, on, on Saturday, April 20.

Bayne Bossom, Olivia Uechtritz, Lucas Escobar and Timmy Dutta will represent the United States in front of a live crowd and international audience via the USPA Polo Network. They will face Ned Hine, Milly Hine, Will Harper and Monty Swain-Grainer for a chance to defend their 2018 title. The USPA encourages all polo fans to save the date, tune in, and cheer on some of the brightest young players in the sport.


USA: Geronimo Obregon 4, Peke Gonzalez 5, Mike Azzaro 6, Jared Zenni 6. Alternates: Jeff Blake 6, Costi Caset 6, Matt Coppola 4. Coach: Julio Arellano.

ENGLAND: Tommy Beresford 6, Ollie Cudmore 6, James Harper 7, Henry Porter 3.


USA JUNIOR: Bayne Bossom 2, Olivia Uechtritz 0, Lucas Escobar 1.5, Timmy Dutta 2. Coach: Jared Sheldon.

ENGLAND JUNIOR: Ned Hine 2, Millie Hine 1, Will Harper 2, Monte Swain-Grainer 1. Coach: Malcolm Borwick.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.