36th Men State Polo Tournament begins

Nagamapal Youth Polo Club (NYPC) and Kangleipak Polo Star (KPS) emerged victorious in the first day of the 36th Men’s State Level Polo Tournament 2018-19 being organised by All Manipur Polo Association at Mapal Kangjeibung.

The opening match saw Nagamapal Youth Polo Club secured a 5-3 win over ESC-B.Mocha and Bishorjit scored one goal each in the first chukker and gave NYPC a commanding 2-0, however, ESC-B drew level the scoreline to 2-2 in the second chukkar, with one goal each from H Sanjoy Singh and M Naoba.

Following the deadlock, the Nagamapal side made their every effort count and won back the lost command over their opponent in the third chukkar, thanks to double from Bishorjit.

ESC-B’s M Naoba also scored one goal in this chukkar.

The scoreboard reads 4-3 at the end of third chukkar.

In the final chukkar, Bishorjit rose again as he scored his 4th goal and gave his team the win.

Meanwhile, in the second match, Kangleipak Polo Star secured a narrow 4-3 win over Chingkhei Hunba Polo Club-B (CHPC-B) .

Though the match saw a neck to neck competition and N Premananda of CHPC-B scored the opening goal, KPS had the upper hand as W Bomcha and Meiraba scored one goal each to lead the match 2-1 in the first chukkar.

Geetchandra and W Bomcba fired in two more goals for KPS in the 2nd and 3rd chukkars respectively while N Premananda and H Pritam Singh of the losing scored one each in the 3rd and 4th chukkars.

The match ended 4-3 in favour of Kangleipak Polo Star (KPS).

The opening ceremony was attended by retd Lt Gen, Dr Konsam Himalay Singh and AMPA president, Dr K Saratchandra Singh as the presidium members.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.