36th Men’s State Level Polo Tournament : Khurai PC, MPSC-C seal close wins to enter semi-finals

Khurai Polo Club and MPSC-C registered hard fought wins today to make it to the semi-finals of the 36th Men’s State Level Polo Tournament organised by All Manipur Polo Association at Mapal Kangjeibung.

In the first quarter final match of the tournament staged today, Khurai Polo Club made a fine comeback led by S Jameson to force a 3-3 draw till fourth chukker with Nagamapal Polo Club before clinching the winner in the second minute of the additional chukker.

The first chukker ended goalless with neither team making it to the target but Bilam and Mocha scored to hand the Nagamapal side a 2-1 lead in the second chukker as A Ranjan scored the lone goal for Khurai Polo Club.

Khurai Polo Club’s S Jameson was able to close the gap briefly after the start of the third chukker but Umesh Gurung helped Nagamapal Polo Club regain the lead in the 4th minute before S Jameson scored the equaliser yet again in the 4th chukker to stretch the game to additional chukker.

S Jameson then struck the winner 1.35 minutes into the fifth chukker handing his team a place in the last four round where they meet MPSC who overcame Chingkheihunba Polo Club-A (CHPC-A) 6-5 in another keenly contested quarter final match.

MPSC-C and CHPC-A were lock at 1-1 till the first chukker before the first team raced ahead in the second chukker and held on till the final chukker for a 6-5 finish.

Th Ranjit did the scoring for MPSC-C 7.12 minutes into first chukker after A Basanta opened account for CHPC-A in the 3rd minute and M Jawan quickfired two goals within two minutes into the second chukker to hand MPSC-A a 3-1 lead.

L Thomson however reduced the gap by a goal for CHPC-A in the 7th minute of the chukker before S Abungcha struck to help MPSC-C enjoy two goal lead.

Th Ranjit scored his second for the winning side in the third chukker as A Basanta too had his second for CHPC-A before his team mate Leishemba Takhellambam connected to a goal to make it 4-5 .

The last chukker saw M Jawan completing his treble 0.16 minutes into the game to make it 6-4 .

CHPC-A pulled back another in the second minute via L Thomson but their latter efforts to draw level failed to materialise thereby handing MPSC-C a place in the semi-final.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.