36th Men’s State Polo Tournament: Khurai PC, MPSC-C and Paradise PC gallop into last 8

Khurai PC, MPSC-C and Paradise Polo Club were able to book the last 8 round berths at the 36th Men’s State Polo Tournament 2020 beating their respective rivals at Mapal Kangjeibung today.

The day saw Khurai Polo Club trounce Samadon Ayangba 10-1 with A Ranjan and Korounganba sharing a bulk of goals in a one sided encounter to set up last 8 round date with Nagamapal Youth Polo Club.

Korounganba kicked off the scoring when the game was barely a half minute old to put Khurai PC ahead before P Premjit pulled level with a goal in the 3rd minute for Samadon Ayangba.

A Ranjan however struck his first to help Khurai PC take a 2-1 lead till the end of first chukker.

The second chukker was all about A Ranjan and Korounganba’s display of scoring skills as the former managed two goals and Korounganba pumped in four goals to complete his haul of 5 goals.

After leading 8-1 till halfway, A Ranjan was seen completing his score briefly into the third chukker before O Chinglensana fired home the final nail.

The fourth chukker saw neither side making the target but Khurai PC were all happy with their 10-1 finish.

In the second ground, MPSC-C notched up a comfortable 6-3 win against Tekcham Polo Club to cruise into the last 8 round.

MPSC-C had an aggressive start and scored all 6 goals in till the second chukker while the Tekcham side had their three goals in the latter chukkers.

S Veiking scored the opener just one minute into the game and Th Ranjit quickfired two goals in the 4th and the 5th minutes to carry forward the momentum before M Jawan had his chance converted to help MPSC-C post a 4-0 lead till the first chukker.

S Abungcha then struck his remaining two goals in the second chukker to make it 6-0 as Tekcham Polo Club were still struggling to find their form.

MPSC-C’s approach towards the game changed in the following chukkers and it was S Sadananda of the Tekcham side who grabbed a goal back in the third chukker to make it 1-6 before his team mate Th Basanta added two more goals.

MPSC-C will now face CHPC-A in the quarter final.

The day also saw Paradise Polo Club made their way to the quarter finals with a hard fought 5-4 victory against K&MM RS.Paradise PC lead the first chukker 1-0 thanks to K Samananda’s strike but K&MM RS made their way back by scoring two goals in the second chukker through Ch Ajit Singh and W Johny.

Paradise PC retained the lead yet again in the third chukker with K Samananda and L Rohit scoring a goal each but W Johny and Ch Ajit Singh duo managed a goal each in the opening minutes of the last chukker to make it 4-3 in K&MM RS’s favour.

Paradise Polo Club did not slacken and pulled level through N Philip in the third minute before K Samananda completed his treble with a fine finish and it was worth enough of a winner as K&MM RS failed to convert the chances they had latter on.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.