Dr. A/Hesketh wins AHPRC March League at Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club

This March, the AHPRC League has seen five teams compete on the grounds of Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club: Anningsley Park Farm, Dr. A-Hesketh Polo, Mahra Polo, Sarissa Polo, and UAE Polo.

The final match of the League saw Dr. A/Hesketh and Sarissa go head to head on Saturday. The match started with a goal from Dr. Al Abbar himself. Sarissa held the lead in the second, but Hesketh pushed ahead at half-time and held on to the advantage until the end, closing the game 7-5. 

Dr. A/Hesketh’s Kim Roche was named Most Valuable Player.

Prior to the final, Anningsley Polo took on Mahra Polo in the Subsidiary Final. It was a close match until the third chukka, where Mahra scored to gain the advantage. They held their ground until the end and secured the 6-3 victory.


DR.A/HESKETH: Lauren Dickson -1, Dr. A 0, Tomas Palacios Bacque 3, Tomas Iriarte 4. Total: 6.

SARISSA: Petra Spanko -1, Yassien Shansal -1, Pearl Venot 0, Manuel Plaza 6. Total: 4.

Previous results:

Sarissa Polo 9.5-7 Dr. A/Hesketh

UAE Polo 7-4.5 Mahra Polo

Dr. A/Hesketh 5-4 Anningsley Park Polo

UAE Polo 9-9.5 Sarissa Polo

Anningsley Park Polo 5-4 Mahra Polo

Anningsley Park Farm: Ahmed Al Sammach 0, Musab Alwandawy 0, TBC -1, Jacinto Crotto 7. Total: 6.

Mahra: Rashid Habtoor 0, Raja Abuljebain 0, Tariq Habtoor 1, Nicolas Ruiz Guinazu 4. Total: 5.

UAE: Sheika Maitha Al Maktoum 0, Sheika Alya Al Maktoum 0, Lucas Monteverde 2, Benjamin Panelo 4. Total: 6.


HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Cup 2020 Returns for Another Year at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club

The HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Cup returned to the grounds of Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club on Friday for the second year with some of the region’s finest polo patrons and well renowned polo superstars. Held under the Patronage of HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum, the event was attended by VIPs and polo enthusiasts, who watched the two exhibition matches.

The first match saw patrons playing under team banners of Haafhd Polo and Erhaab Polo. It was an well-fought match, with the score almost tied until the end, when Haafhd Polo team scored to secure the victory.


HAAFHD POLO TEAM: Khalid Bin Drai, Rashed Bin Drai, Mohammed Bin Drai, Rashid Al Habtoor, Tariq Al Habtoor, Yousef Bin Desmal, Gonzalo Janson.

ERHAAB POLO TEAM: Sheikha Maitha Al Maktoum, Sheikha Alya Al Maktoum, Habtoor Al Habtoor, Faris Al Yabhouni, Haider Bangash, Nasser Al Shamsi, Federico Von Potobsky. 

Progression Haafhd Polo: 2-1, 3-3, 3-3, 4.5-4.

The professionals played next. The match, which boasted a 28-30 goal handicap, saw top polo players battle it for the title. The first chukker ended in a tie. Salsabil Polo took the lead from the second until the end of the third, with goals from Facundo Sola and Martin Podesta. Nashwaan made a comeback, scoring two goals to tie the match 6-all, until Jacinto Crotto scored a last second goal to claim the win for Salsabil Polo Team.


SALSABIL: Facundo Sola, Jacinto Crotto, Martín Podestá, Juan Ambroggio.

NASHWAN: Alfredo Cappella, Marcos Araya, Manuel Plaza, Juan Zubiaurre.

Progression Salsabil: 1-1, 3-1, 5-2, 6-4, 7-6.

MVP: Marcos Araya.

BPP: Plucera.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.