Fifteen GAUNTLET OF POLO® alums are on the roster for the Triple Crown of polo that begins with the Tortugas Open on Sunday, November 1 and runs through Tuesday, November 10, 2020 at Tortugas Country Club in Argentina. Out of the eight teams entered, two teams feature four GAUNTLET alums and one of the teams, Las Monjitas (part of La Natividad/Las Monjitas), competed in the 2020 Florida high-goal winter season. The La Natividad/Las Monjitas will feature the young Castagnola brothers Camilo “Jeta” and Barto, alongside Polito Pieres (Aspen 2019, La Indiana 2020) and Ignatius “Nachi” Du Plessis 9 (Iconica 2019 substitute, Santa Clara 2020).

Also amongst the rosters are two very interesting lineups. First, Ellerstina, with Facundo Pieres (Pilot 2019/2020) regaining the number one position, with Hilario Ulloa (Park Place 2020 substitute, Las Monjitas 2019) at number two, Gonzalito Pieres (Pilot 2019/2020) at number three and Nico Pieres (Coca-Cola 2020, Park Place 2019) at back. Similarly, Ellerstina’s top opponent for many years, La Dolfina, announced its new roster after the unfortunate injuries suffered by Juan Martin Nero. Adolfo Cambiaso will wear the number four jersey for the first time in his illustrious Triple Crown career since 1994, while his son Poroto Cambiaso will be taking his father’s number one shirt; Pelon Stirling (Las Monjitas 2020) and Pablo MacDonough will keep their respective number two and number three jerseys. The historic rivalry between these two teams cannot be missed.

Other GAUNTLET alums include Francisco Elizalde (Las Monjitas 2019/2020), Sapo Caset 10 (Tonkawa 2019/2020), Alfredo Bigatti (Park Place 2020), Juan Britos (Park Place 2019/2020), Agustín Merlos (Tonkawa 2019), Mariano Aguerre (Postage Stamp Farm 2019/2020), Ignacio “Cubi” Toccalino (Santa Clara 2019, Tonkawa 2020) and Santiago Toccalino (Stable Door 2019, Patagones 2020).

There will be seven games in the single elimination Tortugas Open, showcasing two of the best players in the world along with some rising young stars. All the games in the Tortugas Open, Hurlingham Open (November 14 – 22) and Argentine Open (November 28 – December 19) will be livestreamed. Follow some of the GAUNTLET’s biggest hitters as they compete in the pinnacle of professional polo in the world.



Ellerstina (39)
Hilario Ulloa 10
Gonzalito Pieres 9
Nico Pieres 10
Facundo Pieres 10

La Irenita (30)
Facundo Fernández Llorente 7
Mín Podestá 7
Juan Gris Zavaleta 8
Juan Martin Zubia 8

RS Murus Sanctus (35)
Facundo Sola 9
Francisco Elizalde 8
Sapo Caset 10
Alfredo Cappella Barabucci 8

La Natividad/Las Monjitas (36)
Camilo Castagnola 8
Polito Pieres 10
Barto Castagnola 9
Ignatius Du Plessis 9

La Dolfina (40)
Adolfo Cambiaso 10
Pelon Stirling 10
Pablo MacDonough 10
Poroto Cambiaso 6

La Ensenada/La Aguada (29)
Segundo Bocchino 6
Alfredo Bigatti 8
Matias Torres Zavaleta 8
Jero del Carril 7

La Dolfina Polo Ranch (33)
Guillermo Terrera 8
Juan Britos 8
Diego Cavanagh 9
Jejo Taranco 8

Los Machitos (31)
Agustín Merlos 8
Mariano Aguerre 7
Ignacio Toccalino 8
Santiago Toccalino 8


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.