POLO: Fairmont is the fairest of them all

Fairmont Mara Safari Club are the new champions of Ndume Trophy Polo Championships.

They achieved the feat after overcoming handicap 2.5 John Deere team of Gordy Millar (2), Cindy Voorspuy (0.5), Natasha Tisminieszky (0) and Hiromi Nzomo (0) 6-3.5 in a one-sided match yesterday at Manyatta Polo Club, in Gilgil.

Starting the match with a 0.5 goal advantage, John Deere could not match the speed of their opponents who were aggressive in all the four chukkas.

Neil Macaire put the ball through the sticks three times in each of the first three chukkas after Georgina Millar had earlier scored twice in the first chukka. Their final goal came through handicap 1.5 Harry Griffiths in the final chukka.

Trophies during the Fawcus cup and the Moi Trophy at Manyatta Polo club in Gilgil Nakuru county on December 13, 2020. [Kipsang Joseph, Standard]

Natasha Tisminieszky scored all John Deere’s three goals in the second, third and fourth chukkas but the margin was too big to bridge.

After losing their semi-final match of Ndume Cup 4-2 to John Deere, Sosian Energy qualified for the Kesier Cup final, making a comeback to win the second edition of Kesier Memorial Cup.

They defeated Brookside 6.5-6 in an evenly contested match.

Natasha Tisiminieszky (left) of John Deere battles with Ben Stonewigg of Fairmont Mara Safari club during the finals of Ndume Cup Polo Championships at Manyatta polo club in Gilgil, Nakuru County on December 20, 2020. [kipsang Joseph, Standard]

*Ndume Cup Polo championship winners, Fairmont Mara Safari club team from left Harry Griffiths, Ben Stonewigg, Georgina Millar and Nell Macaire at Manyatta polo club in Gilgil, Nakuru County on December 20, 2020. [kipsang Joseph, Standard

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.