Victorious Monterosso Vikings

British Ladies Open Final
On Friday 17 July, The British Ladies Open Semi Finals took place at Cowdray Park Polo Club. Park Place defeated Coombe Place 5-2 and Monterosso Vikings defeated MJVH, winners of the Aspect Knepp Castle Ladies Tournament (also part of the Victrix Ludorum series), 7-6. These results meant that both Park Place and Monterosso Vikings faced each other in The British Ladies Open Championship Final on Sunday 19 July in a Clash of the Titans with top ladies’ polo players Lia Salvo and Hazel Jackson-Gaona going head-to-head. Going into the Final, Monterosso Vikings were the underdogs, as the Park Place organisation have had a successful season in both the ladies and mixed high goal.

So far this season, the Park Place set-up has secured The Prince of Wales Trophy (mixed), The Black Bears Women’s Tournament (ladies) and also have two teams in The King Power Gold Cup Semi Finals due to take place later this week on Wednesday 22 July. As well as being up against tough opponents, Monterosso Vikings faced a further challenge as their usual line-up was shaken up with team captain Siri Bazzoni, replaced by Olivia Merlos. In the end, it seemed the pundits were wrong to doubt the might of Monterosso Vikings as they rode out with a convincing 6-3 win, taking with them The British Ladies Open Championship title.Park Place’s Milly Hine’s Mosqueta was named Best Playing Pony, Mosqueta also received BPP honours earlier innthe Victrix Ludorum series at Black Bears Polo Club.A full report from the Final will be included in the next issue of Polo Times; click here to gift a subscription to a friend!

The British Ladies Open Championship Final Teams:Monterosso Vikings (18): Olivia Merlos (2), Kayley Smith (2), Emma Boers (5) &Hazel Jackson-Gaona (9) Park Place (18): Varvara Borodina (1), Catalina Lavinia (3), Milly Hine (6) & Lia Salvo (8) 

Photograph: Monterosso Vikings, winners of The British Ladies Open Championship. By Mark Beaumont

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.