Wins for RS Murus Sanctus & La Natividad Las Monjitas

Argentine Open action resumes

After rain stopped play over the weekend, the two rescheduled matches resumed yesterday, Monday 30 November, on a gloriously sunny day. The first match between RS Murus Sanctus and La Irenita II had been paused on Saturday 28 November due to rain, with RS Murus Sanctus leading 6-0. Despite the break in play, RS Murus Sanctus continued their impressive domination of the play and won the match with a final score of 19-7; with Guillermo Caset scoring 11 of his team’s goals (6 goals on penalties). The second match of the day was preceded by a tribute to football legend, Diego Maradonna, who passed away last week, with players observing a one minute silence in his memory while La Natividad Las Monjitas’ Polito Pieres and La Irenita’s Facundo Fernández Llorente held aloft Maradonna’s iconic number 10 Argentina shirt.La Irenita opened the scoring with a goal from Juan Martín Zubía, La Natividad Las Monjitas had a spectacular second chukka with four goals widening their advantage, while La Irenita struggled to close the gap. After half-time, Polito Pieres quickly resumed his goal scoring spree, with his fourth goal of the match extending La Natividad Las Monjitas’ lead to 9-4. La Irenita continued their best efforts and didn’t give up, with accurate penalty conversions adding to their field goal tally, but in the end it was not enough to match the dominating teamwork of La Natividad Las Monjitas who took the win, 15-10. 

127th HSBC Argentine Open Teams:

Zone A

La Dolfina Saudi (40): Adolfo Cambiaso (10), David Stirling (10), Pablo Mac Donough (10) & Juan Martin Nero (10)

La Natividad/Las Monjitas (36): Camilo Castagnola (8), Pablo Pieres (10), Barto Castagnola (9) & Ignatius Du Plessis (9) 

RS Murus Sanctus (35): Facundo Sola (9), Francisco Elizalde (8), Guillermo Caset (10) & Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (8) 

La Irenita (30): Martín Podestá (7), Juan Martín Zavaleta (8), Facundo Fernández Llorente (7) & Juan Martín Zubía (8) 

La Irenita II (29): Santiago Loza (7), Tomás Fernández Llorente (7), Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (8) & Pedro Falabella (7)

Zone B

Ellerstina (39): Facundo Pieres (10), Hilario Ulloa (10), Gonzalo Pieres (9) & Nico Pieres (10)

La Dolfina Polo Ranch (33): Guillermo Terrera (8), Juan Britos (8), Diego Cavanagh (9) & Alejo Taranco (8)

 Los Machitos (31): Agustín Merlos (8), Ignacio Toccalino (8), Mariano Aguerre (7) & Santiago Toccalino (8) 

La Ensenada/La Aguada (29): Segundo Bocchino (6), Alfredo Bigatti (8), Matías Torres Zavaleta (8) & Jerónimo Del Carril (7) 

Cría GT (32): Valerio Zubiaurre (8), Cristian Laprida (8), Joaquín Pittaluga (8) & Ignacio Laprida (8)

 Photograph: La Irenita & La Natividad Las Monjitas at full pelt. By Matías Callejo / Prensa AAP

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.