Argentine Open: Debut win for Ellerstina, important victory for Alegria/Fish Creek

The 128th Argentine Open continued on Tuesday, November 16, as Ellerstina and Alegria Fish Creek claimed victories at the Argentine Association of Polo in Pilar. This is the first time the most important tournament in the world is being played between Palermo and Pilar. This year’s edition sees ten teams, up to 39 goals, compete.

First up, Ellerstina claimed an impressive 23-11 win against La Irenita. Ellerstina saw Alfredo Cappella subbing in for Nicolás Pieres, who is still recovering from a bad fall suffered during the Hurlingham Open.

The second match was a thrill for fans, as another unexpected result—the first was Chapaleufu’s victory over La Natividad last Saturday—delighted spectators. After a hard fought match, Alegria Fish Creek, a team that made their way into the tournament from Qualification, took a narrow 13-12 victory against La Ensenada.

La Ensenada worked hard to take control of the game, but Alegria Fish Creek managed to hold a narrow advantage throughout the eight chukkas of play. Bautista Bayugar gave an extraordinary performance; the young, talented player scored ten goals, an achievement that places him behind the current top scorer of the tournament, young gun Rufino Bensadon.

The victory is significant for Alegria Fish Creek, as they earned points that go towards securing a place in the 2022 Triple Crown.



Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres 10 (10 goals, 8 penalties), Hilario Ulloa 10 (6), Gonzalo Pieres Jr. 9, Alfredo Cappella Barabucci 8 (1). Total: 37.

La Irenita: Santiago Loza 8 (2 goals, received a yellow card in the third chukka), Segundo Bocchino 7 (1), Ignacio Toccalino 8, Isidro Strada 8 (8, 6 penalties, 1 corner). Total: 31.

Score Ellerstina: 2-1, 4-3, 9-4, 11-6, 15-6, 17-7, 20-11, 23-11.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Federico Martelli.

Third Man: Gastón Lucero.


Alegría Fish Creek: Juan Ruiz Guiñazú 8, Clemente Zavaleta Jr. 7, Joaquín Pittaluga 7 (2 goals), Bautista Bayugar 8 (11, 4 penalties). Total: 30.

La Ensenada Brubank: Juan Britos 9 (4, 1 penalty), Alfredo Bigatti 8 (3), Juan Martín Zubía 8 (3), Jerónimo del Carril 8 (2). Total: 33.

Score Alegría Fish Creek: 1-0, 2-1, 3-2, 4-3, 6-4, 9-8, 12-11, 13-12.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva & Rafael Silva.

Third Man: José I. Araya.


Ellerstina vs La Irenita

Alegria Fish Creek vs La Ensenada

Argentine Open: Day 3

The Argentine Open continues on Wednesday, November 17, in Pilar:

2pm: RS Murus Sanctus vs. Alegria

RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola 9, Guillermo Caset 10, Pablo Mac Donough 10, Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 39.

Alegría: Agustín Merlos 7, Pedro Zacharías 7, Tomás García del Río 7, Fred Mannix  7. Total: 28.

4,30pm: La Dolfina Brava vs. Chapaleufu

La Dolfina Brava: Guillermo Terrera 9, Adolfo Cambiaso Jr. 8, Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade 8, Alejo Taranco 8. Total: 32.

Chapaleufú: Rufino Bensadón 7, Juan M. Zavaleta 8, Julián de Lusarreta 7, Felipe Dabas 7. Total: 29.

128° ARGENTINE OPEN –  Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.