Argentine open: RS Murus Sanctus & La Dolfina Brava claim victories

The 128th Argentine Open continued on Wednesday, November 17, at the Argentine Association of Polo in Pilar, with two games. RS Murus Sanctus and La Dolfina Brava claimed respective victories over Alegria and Chapaleufu.

The Argentine Open is the most important tournament in the world. Ten teams, up to 39 goals, are in competition. Teams are split into two leagues.

RS Murus Sanctus claimed an impressive debut win, defeating Alegria by 18 goals to 7. After five hard fought chukkas, the tide turned in the fifth chukka when, led by Pablo Mac Donough’s extraordinary performance, RS Murus Sanctus took control of the match. RS Murus Sanctus’ Facundo Sola was unable to play due to injury; he was subbed in by Facundo Fernández Llorente.

The next game was much anticipated, being as it was the clash of the undefeated. La Dolfina Brava – with Tomás Panelo filling in for the injured Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade – took their second consecutive win after defeating Chapaleufu 17-10. It was a delightful game, with spectators having the chance to enjoy watching up and coming stars playing the most important polo tournament in the world. Poroto Cambiaso scored nine goals. Felipe Dabas and Rufino Bensadon also gave amazing performances. This second consecutive win for La Dolfina Brava means that they now top League B.



RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Fernández Llorente 7 (2 goals), Guillermo Caset 10 (6, 1 penalty), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (9, 4 penalties), Juan Martín Nero 10 (1). Total: 37.

Alegría Standard Wealth: Agustín Merlos 7 (4 goals), Pedro Zacharías 7 (2, 1 penalty), Tomás García del Río 7. Fred Mannix 7 (1). Total: 28.

Score RS Murus Sanctus: 2-0, 4-2, 4-3, 5-5, 7-6, 10-6, 14-7,  18-7.

Umpires: Matías Baibiene & Martín Aguerre.

Third Man: Federico Martelli.


La Dolfina Brava: Guillermo Terrera 9 (6 goals, 1 penalty), Adolfo Cambiaso Jr. (9, 5 penalties and 1 corner), Tomás Panelo 6 (1), Alejo Taranco 8 (1). Total: 31.

Chapaleufú: Rufino Bensadón 7 (6 goals, 3 penalties and 1 corner), Juan Martín Zavaleta  8, Julián de Lusarreta 7 (1), Felipe Dabas 7 (3, 1 penaltiy, received a yellow card in the eighth chukka). Total: 29.

Score La Dolfina Brava: 2-0, 5-1, 7-2, 8-4, 11-5, 11-7, 13-8, 17-10.

Umpire: Gastón Lucero & Gonzalo López Vargas.

Third Man: José I. Araya.


RS Murus Sanctus vs. Alegria

La Dolfina Brava vs. Chapaleufu

The Argentine Open continues at Palermo on Saturday, November 20:  

2pm: Ellerstina vs. Alegria Fish Creek

Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 10, Gonzalo Pieres Jr. 9, Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 39.

Alegría Fish Creek: Tito Ruiz Guiñazú 8, Clemente Zavaleta 7, Joaquín Pittaluga 7, Bautista Bayugar 8. Total: 30.

4,30pm: La Dolfina Saudi vs. La Ensenada

La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso 10, Francisco Elizalde 9, David Stirling 10, Diego Cavanagh 9. Total: 38.

La Ensenada: Juan Britos 9,  Alfredo Bigatti 8, Juan Martín Zubía, Jerónimo del Carril 8. Total: 33.

128° ARGENTINE OPEN – Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.