Camara de diputados Cup: La Irenita win title

La Irenita II claimed a 13-12 win against La Fija to win the Cámara de Diputados Cup, one of the most prestigious tournaments of the spring season in Argentina, following the final played on Palermo’s ground 2 on Tuesday, December 7.

As a result, La Irenita have qualified for the playoff, where they will face Alegria. The winner will earn the eighth spot in the 2022 Triple Crown. The game is due to be played on Sunday, December 12.

In the final against La Fija, La Irenita dominated the match throughout four and a half chukkas, securing an impressive 11-4 advantage. But La Fija never gave up; they made a comeback in the following chukkas, and by the start of the last they were only two goals behind (10-12). But La Irenita II sealed the deal in the final chukka, securing the coveted trophy and, more importantly, a chance to play the 2022 Triple Crown.


La Irenita II 13-La Fija

La  Irenita II: Facundo Fernández Llorente 7 (5 goals), Tomás Fernández Llorente 7 (6 penalties, received a yellow card in the sixth chukka), Martín Podestá 7 (1), Juan Agustín García Grossi 7 (1 penalty). Total: 28.

La Fija: Raúl Colombres 7 (2, received a yellow card in the second chukka), Ezequiel Martínez Ferrario 7, Ignacio Negri  7 (3),  Felipe Vercellino 7 (7, 4 penalties). Total: 28.

Score La  Irenita II: 2-0, 3-3, 6-3, 10-4, 12-8, 12-10, 13-12.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Gonzalo López Vargas.

Third Man: José I. Araya.


MVP: Facundo Fernández Llorente.

Top scorer of the final: Felipe Vercellino.

BPP presented by the Argentine Association of Polo: Irenita Sonora, ridden by Facundo Fernández Llorente.

Best Polo Argentino Bred, presented by the Argentine Polo Pony Breeders Assn.: Irenita Sonora.

Cámara de Diputados Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.