Gold Cup Weekend Round Up

Wins for Talandracas, Monterosso, Murus Sanctus & Scone
The Gold Cup for The British Open Championship continued over the weekend, with a bumper weekend of polo. Saturday 3 July, day 5 of the tournament, saw a determined Talandracas team defeat 2021 Cartier Queen’s Cup champions, UAE Polo Team, 11-7 in an exceptional display of open polo and limiting Polito Pieres and Tomas Beresford to just two field goals. The second match of the day kicked off the next round of play, with Monterosso securing their second win of the tournament; they led from the offset, making the most of every advantage that came their way, with an impressive 75% accuracy on 16 goal attempts leaving BP Polo with little opportunity to match their performance. BP Polo were minus their 10 goal Juan Martin Nero, who has been sidelined with an injury from an earlier match and has been replaced by Nico Pieres who although was strong in attack, couldn’t counter the onslaught from the opposition which saw Monterosso run out with a 13-10 win. 

The following day, Sunday 4 July, began with a tight contest between Murus Sanctus and Vikings which saw Murus Sanctus outshoot Vikings with an impressive 25 attempts on goal compared to just eight by the Vikings and ultimately secure a 9-8 win. The second match of the day was the much-anticipated contest between Scone and Park Place, which didn’t disappoint, with a dramatic finish seeing Scone back on winning form and lifting The Midhurst Town Cup. Trailing 7-2 going into the fifth chukka, Scone clawed their way back to even scores of 8-8, which pushed the match into overtime, with Isidro Strada scoring the golden goal to complete the impressive comeback for the 9-8 victory. The Most Valuable Player prize was given to Poroto Cambiaso and the Best Playing Pony rug was awarded to Adolfo Cambiaso’s Dolfina Lapa C07.

The 2021 Gold Cup Teams:

Emlor (22): Spencer McCarthy (1), Agustín ‘Tincho’ Merlos (7), Alfredo Bigatti (8) & Max Charlton (6)

Vikings (22): Siri Bazzoni (0), Sebastian Merlos (8), Juan Martín Zubía (8) & Chris Mackenzie (6)

BP Polo (21): James Beh (1), Joevy Beh (3), Nico Pieres (9) & Alejandro Muzzio (8) 

Talandracas (22): Camilo ‘Jeta’ Castagnola (8), Edouard Carmignac (0), Marcos Araya (6) & Diego Cavanagh (8)

Great Oaks Les Lions (22): Dillon Bacon (2), Cruz Heguy (4), Bartolome Castagnola Jnr (9) & Guillermo Terrera (7)

Monterosso (22): Alessandro Bazzoni (1), Mackenzie Weisz (4), David Stirling (9) & Ignacio ‘Cubi’ Toccalino (8)

Park Place (22): Andrey Borodin (0), Will Harper (4), Juan Britos (8) & Facundo Pieres (10)

Murus Sanctus (22): Corinne Ricard (0), Facundo Sola (8), Guillermo ‘Sapo’ Caset (9) & Matt Perry (5)

Scone (23): David Paradice (0), Poroto Cambiaso (7), Isidro Strada (6) & Adolfo Cambiaso (10)

Thai Polo NP (22): Louis Hine (2), Ned Hine (4), James Harper (7) & Nico Pieres (9)

UAE Polo Pod (21): Sam Browne (1), Lucas “Lukin” Monteverde Jnr (5), Alfredo Cappella (8) & Jack Richardson (7)

King Power (22): Aiyawatt “Top” Srivaddhanaprabha (1), Hugo Lewis (3), Francisco Elizalde (8) & Hilario Ulloa (10)

UAE Polo Team (22): HH Sheikha Maitha (0), Tomas Panelo (6), Polito Pieres (9) & Tomas Beresford (7) 

Photograph: Isidro Strada leaning in for the hook, scored the golden goal for Scone. By Mark Beamont

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.