Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup,

The 56° Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup, one of the most prestigious competitions in Argentina kicked off on Thursday, September 23, with La H and Ellerstina Pilot claiming victories  in the first day of action. The tournament precedes the much anticipated Argentine Triple Crown, and is organised by Harald Link’s Thai Polo, with the support of Minuto Siete Polo. The best news is that the competition is hosted in its original home, the iconic club located in San Isidro. It is worth remembering that the 2019 Jockey Club Open final was played between Pilot and Valiente at Palermo, with Curtis Pilot’s lineup running out the winners.

First up, La H narrowly beat La Irenita by 9 goals to 7. The score was tied 7-all in the sixth, but La H managed to score two goals to claim the victory. Up next, defending champions Ellerstina Pilot bounced back from a tight first half to outscored La Ensenada 4-0 in the fourth chukka. They continued controling to game to take a 11-8 win. Their top scorer, Facundo Pieres, gave an outstanding performance.

The 56th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup sees six teams, between 30 and 34 goals, compete. The tournament runs from Thursday, September 23 to Saturday, October 2. Attention will not only fall on the skills and organisations of the players, but on the challenge implied in hosting the tournament in its original home once again. Battro Polo Fields has worked hard on grounds one and two to ensure that they are in perfect condition when the time comes to play.

Thai Polo’s involvement will not only relate to the event itself, but in bringing its high level of excellence to the competition. Their motto ‘high quality, high hospitality,’ is sure to provide the Jockey Club Open with the characteristic warmth of Thai Polo, and a superior set up in terms of organisation.

The 56th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup IS STREAMED LIVE ON POLOLINE TV HERE!

The Jockey Club Thai Polo Cup will resume on Sunday, September 26: 

1pm: La Dolfina vs. La Ensenada

4pm: BP Polo vs. La Irenita



La H: Salvador Ulloa 7 (1 goal), Carlos María Ulloa 6, Gonzalo Pieres Jr. 9 (4, three penalties), Hilario Ulloa 10 (4). Total: 32.

La Irenita: Matías Mac Donough Jr. 3, Guillermo Caset 10 (6, three penalties), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (1), Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 33.

Score La H: 0-1, 3-1, 4-5, 6-6, 7-7, 9-7.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva & Juan José Araya.

Third Man: Juan José Díaz Alberdi.


Ellerstina Pilot: Facundo Pieres 10 (7, three penalties), Mackenzie Weisz 4 (1), Matías Torres Zavaleta 8 (2), Nicolás Pieres 10 (1). Total: 32.

La Ensenada: Juan Britos 9 (4, two penalties), Alfredo Bigatti 8 (3), Juan M. Zubía 8 (1 penalty), Bartolomé Castagnola Jr. 9. Total: 34.

Score Ellerstina Pilot: 1-2, 3-2, 4-4, 8-4, 10-6, 11-8.

Umpires: Gonzalo López Vargas & Martín Scortichini.

Third Man: Martín Goti.


Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup – Day 1

Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.