Jockey Club Open Underway

Six teams competing in 56th edition
The 56th Jockey Club Thai Polo Cup is one of the most prestigious titles in Argentine polo, preceding the highly anticipated Argentine Triple Crown. This year’s edition is being organised by Harald Link’s Thai Polo, with the support of Minuto Siete Polo, and hosted by San Isidro – the original home of the tournament. This year sees six teams between 30 and 34 goals compete for their chance to secure the title; the action began on Thursday 23 September with wins for La Hache and Ellerstina Pilot. Activity resumed on Sunday 26 September with an impressive 12-8 by La Ensenada over La Dolfina, while the second match of the day was much more closely contested and saw La Irenita defeat BP Polo, 7-5 – this was also the first match in Argentina between Adolfo Cambiaso against Pablo MacDonough and Juan Martín Nero, after their departure from the extremely successful La Dolfina, in late 2020. Sunday’s results put La Ensenada and La Irenita in strong positions to qualify for the Final on Saturday 2 October. The action resumes tomorrow, Tuesday 28 September, with La Hache vs BP Polo and Ellerstina Pilot vs La Dolfina. 

The 56th Jockey Club Thai Polo Cup Teams:Zone A

La Irenita (33): Matías Mac Donough Jr. (3), Guillermo Caset (10), Pablo Mac Donough (10) & Juan Martín Nero (10) 

BP Polo (32): Joevy Beh (4), Francisco Elizalde (9), Facundo Sola (9) & Adolfo Cambiaso (10)

 La Hache (32): Hilario Ulloa (10), Gonzaltio Pieres (9), Salvador Ulloa (7) & Carlos Maria Ulloa (6)

Zone B

La Ensenada (34): Juan Britos (9), Alfredo Bigatti (8), Juan M. Zubía (8) & Bartolomé Castagnola (9)

La Dolfina (30): Lucas Monteverde Jr. (5), Adolfo Cambiaso (8), Alejo Taranco (8) & Diego Cavanagh (9)

Ellerstina Pilot (32): Facundo Pieres (10), Nico Pieres (10), Mackenzie Weisz (4) & Matias Torres Zavaleta (8) 

Photograph: Adolfo Cambiaso (BP Polo) vs Pablo Mac Donough (La Irenita). By Matias Callejo

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.