Oxfordshire Cup: Black Bears retained title

Black Bears claimed a narrow 12-11 win over Ferne Park, and won the Oxfordshire Cup, following the championship match that took place at the Schwarzenbach’s family club, Black Bears Polo Club, set in Shiplake, England, on Tuesday May 25.

The very narrow contest was decided in extra chukka, with Paco O’Dwyer scoring the winning goal. Ollie Cudmore was named MVP, and his mare, Ghetto, took BPP honors.

So, there was no rematch for Ferne Park, who also lost against Black Bears in last year’s final.

The tournament saw four teams up to 18 goals, compete.


Black Bears: Guy Schwarzenbach 2, Jimbo Fewster 4, Ollie Cudmore 6, Paco O’Dwyer 6. Total: 18.

Ferne Park: Jonathan Rotheremere 0, Marcos Araya 6, Joaquín Pittaluga 7, Luke Tomlinson 5. Total: 18.

Photo courtesy Pao Maquin

Oxfordshire Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.