Pony Club Polo Championship 2021 Results

Packed weekend at Offchurch Bury
This year saw a deviation from the traditional home of the Pony Club Polo Championship, Cowdray Park Polo Club, with all Pony Club disciplines attending Offchurch Bury for a bumper Championships over 13 – 22 August, which included the tetrathlon and polo alongside other disciples for the first time. 13 – 15 August saw competitors for polocrosse, mounted games and tetrathlon, while the 17 – 22 August was the turn of dressage, show jumping, eventing and polo. After two years of cancellations, this was also the first time the Championships had been hosted by Offchurch Bury, below are the results from the sections, with a full report to follow in Polo Times:

Handley Cross Cup: Hampshire Hunt

Jorrocks Cup: Beaufort Blue

Jaguar Trophy (Jorrocks on Polo Ponies): South Oxfordshire Hunt

Loriner Challenge Trophy: Royal Artillery

Cooper Cup (Surtees 1): Old Surrey & Burstow

Surtees 2 Trophy: Hampshire Hunt Green

Tony Gilks Award (Best Team Manager): Claire Maldonaldo

Young Telegraph Award (Most promising Under 14/15 section player): Matty Maldonaldo, Old Surrey and Burstow

Sylvia Shepherd (Most Promising Loriner Girl): Izzy Playne, Beaufort

Tic Tac Trophy (Best Jorrocks Pony and Player Combination): Lindsay, ridden by Ottilie Williams (South Oxfordshire Hunt (South)) 

Jambo Trophy (Best All Round Pony Club Polo Pony): Bluebell, ridden by Thalia Coombe (Berkeley)

Polo Times Best Playing HX Pony rug: Tank, ridden by Mattie Maldonaldo (Old Surrey and Burstow)

Texaco Trophy (Best Turnout Jorrocks Team): Beaufort Buff

Rupert Thorneloe Trophy: Charlie Ferguson (Hampshire Hunt)

Most Improved Jorrocks Girl: Tensie Littlewood (Beaufort Blue)

Most Improved First Year Jorrocks: Lily Whittington (Hampshire Hunt) 

Photograph: The Pony Club Championships included polo under the same event umbrella as other equine disciplines for the first time. By The Pony Club

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.