The USPA Women’s Committee recognizes the many female influences throughout the “Sport of Kings” and sought a way to annually recognize one woman within the sport. Both the Polo Training Foundation and the USPA Intercollegiate/Interscholastic programs award Female Player of the Year awards. This award, however, is not just for players. Members of the USPA Women’s Committee feel polo is not only about the players but those who support and help grow the sport. The committee members nominate women they feel serve as role models—women whose selflessness, passion and drive have contributed to the sport for the greater good of the polo community.

The Louise Hitchcock Woman of the Year significantly advances the mission of the USPA, as well as the Women’s Committee—to encourage and increase the participation of women in all aspects of the USPA, to improve the standard of women’s polo throughout the United States and to facilitate the communication and networking of women in polo all over the world.

The award’s namesake, Polo Museum Hall of Famer Louise Eustis Hitchcock was the wife of ten-goaler Thomas Hitchcock Sr., and mother of the great Tommy Hitchcock Jr. Mrs. Hitchcock. was a born leader and visionary and awardees receive a bronze miniature in her honor. According to the Museum of Polo, “Louise Eustis Hitchcock was a passionate poloist long before women became equal to men on the field, and her legacy in the sport surpasses that of most men […]Her turf was the Aiken Preparatory School and the Meadow Lark Club where she coached and inspired future polo stars, themselves today members of the Polo Hall of Fame. Few can be credited with producing as much polo excellence as Louise Hitchcock.”

Previous Award Winners: 
2016- Lezlie Hiner
2017- Sunny Hale
2018- Cindy Halle
2019- Dawn Jones
2020 – Erica Gandomcar

The USPA Women’s Committee is opening up nominations for the 2021 Louise Hitchcock Woman of the Year Award to the entire membership. Nominations close Monday, January 31 2022.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.