The British Open Gold Cup: Ready for Action

The British Open Gold Cup, one of the three Grand Slams of polo (alongside the Argentine Open and the US Open), is set to commence on Tuesday, June 29. It is the most prestigious tournament of the season at Cowdray Park Polo Club, set in Midhurst, West Sussex.

The Gold Cup was created in 1956 by Lieutenant Colonel John Churchill Pearson, Third Viscount Cowdray, who was the driving force behind the renaissance of competitive polo in England after the Second World War. The first title was claimed by Argentine team, Los Indios, composed by Jorge Marin Mareno, Pablo Nagore, Antonio Heguy, and Juan Carlos Harriott Sr.

The 2021 edition of the British Open Gold Cup  sees thirteen teams, up to 22 goals, compete.

The tournament kicks off on Tuesday, with two matches:

12pm: Emlor vs. Vikings (Brooks)

3pm: BP vs. Talandracas (Lawns 2)

The British Open Gold Cup final is set for Sunday, July 25.  

British Open Gold Cup: Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.