WHAT: Limiting the number of attendees, the United States Polo Association (USPA) hosted the U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship® draw on Monday, March 8, 2021, (International Women’s Day) which was broadcast live on Global Polo TV from the 7th Chukker at the International Polo Club Palm Beach (IPC) in Wellington, Florida. Only one representative from each team was invited to draw a token in person and spectators were encouraged to watch the exclusive behind-the-scenes livestream. In addition to the matchups and remarks from USPA Women’s Committee Chairman Meghan Gracida, viewers were treated to interviews with Pamela Flanagan (Hawaii Polo Life) and Paige Boone (BTA/The Villages). The U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship® welcomes back two-time defending champions Hawaii Polo Life along with four returning teams from last year’s competition including all-American team BTA/The Villages. The official draw determined the playing order for the U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship® benefitting Susan G. Komen® Florida, which begins Wednesday, March 10. Preliminary games will be played at Port Mayaca Polo Club (Okeechobee, Florida) with the final slated for 1:00pm ET on Saturday, March 20, on the U.S. Polo Assn. Field 1 at IPC.

WHO: USPA Tournament Draw MC Cody Offen welcomed viewers and talked about the history of the prestigious 18- to 22-goal national women’s tournament. USPA Women’s Committee Chairman Meghan Gracida thanked all parties involved and wished the teams luck who traveled both across the country and internationally to participate. Offen then outlined the “Five Star Draw” format. The official draw was conducted by Haley Bryan, IPC Polo Coordinator, and Jimmy Newman, IPC Polo Manager.

WHERE: The International Polo Club Palm Beach will not be open to the general public during the 2021 polo season. Please read the IPC Reopening Guide available on the U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship® tournament detail page on uspolo.org, for the club’s new protocols and procedures.

Port Mayaca Polo Club is open to the public with spectators encouraged to practice social distancing and hand washing and to stay home if they feel sick.

The list of participating teams by draw are available below:

1. Dundas: Sarah Siegel-Magness (2), Hope Arellano (7), Nina Clarkin (10), Olivia Uechtritz (3)
2. Polo Gear Coffee Company: Dawn Jones (6), Izzy Parsons (8), Danielle Lussi (2), Gillian Johnston (6)
3. Iconica: Maureen Brennan (5), Clara Cassino (8), Milly Hine (6), Anna Coscia (3)
4. Hawaii Polo Life: Dolores Onetto (0), Pamela Flanagan (4), Mia Cambiaso (8), Hazel Jackson (10)
5. BTA/The Villages: Kylie Sheehan (5), Paige Boone (5), KC Krueger (6), Tiffany Busch (6)

Each team will draw two teams to play against in a “Five Star Draw” format. Drawing numbers 1-5, the following matchups will occur for the preliminary games at Port Mayaca Polo Club: 1 vs. 3, 1 vs. 4, 2 vs. 4, 2 vs. 5, 3 vs. 5. After two games, all teams will be ranked 1-5 based on record. Ties will be broken by a one-man shoot out. The top four teams advance to the semifinals with 1 vs. 4 and 2 vs. 3. Semifinalists will advance to the final.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.