UAE Bring Home Ladies British Open

Undefeated streak continues

The British Ladies Open Championship Final at Cowdray Park Polo Club on Saturday 17 July saw two undefeated teams, UAE Polo Team and La Ruleta, go head-to-head for their opportunity to add their names to the top British Ladies trophy. Based on their pre-Final performance, the pundits reckoned it would be a whitewash, based on UAE Polo Team having won each of their three previous matches by an average of 5.3 goals.

Up until the fourth chukka it seemed this may have been the case, but a surge from La Ruleta brought the scores even, however, UAE Polo Team responded with a last second goal to take the thrilling 7-6 victory and raise the British Ladies Open Championship trophy.  The Most Valuable Player prize was awarded to Catalina Lavinia and the Best Playing Pony rug went to Trilogy, played and owned by Nina Clarkin. The Retraining of Racehorses Best Playing Pony prize was awarded to Farsong, played and owned by Hazel Jackson. The Subsidiary Final was won by Confido who beat AM Polo 4-3 and in The Ladies Handicap Final, Maiz Dulce defeated Rex Homes 5½–3.A full report from the Final will be included in the August issue of Polo Times.  

Photograph: UAE Polo Team had a battle to comeback from La Ruleta’s fourth chukka resurgence. By Mark Beaumont

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.