Ylvisaker Cup: Beverly Polo strike back!

Beverly Polo (who received two goals on handicap) took an impressive 15-11 win over Palm Beach Equine to claim the 18-goal Ylvisaker Cup at International Polo Club Palm Beach on Sunday, February 7. The final gave Beverly Polo the chance to prove themselves against Palm Beach Equine after they lost the final of the Bobby Barry Memorial Cup by 13 goals to 11.

Led by their two top scorers, Hilario Figueras and Tolito Fernández Ocampo, who converted five goals apiece, Beverly Polo (with Joaquín Panelo subbing in for Peke Gonzalez), dominated the match from the second chukka onwards, securing a 10-7 advantage over Palm Beach Equine by half time.

Scott Swerdlin’s team pushed back, but they were unable to take control of the game as Beverly Polo continued their attack to ultimately claim the prestigious title.


Beverly Polo: Bill Ballhaus 0, Joaquín Panelo 6 (2 goals), Tolito Fernández Ocampo 6 (5), Hilario Figueras 4 (5). Total: 16.

Palm Beach Equine: Costi Caset 5 (8 goals), Robbie Bilbao 5, Gringo Colombres 8 (3), Scott Swerdlin 0. Total: 18.

Score Beverly Polo: (2-0) 3-1, 6-5, 10-7, 12-7, 12-9, 15-11.

MVP: Hilario Figueras.

BPP: Ona Juliana (ridden by Tolito Fernández Ocampo).

Sportsmanship Award: Bill Ballhaus.

YLVISAKER CUP: Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.