129th. Hurlingham Open: La Natividad and La Irenita Grand Champions scored opening wins

La Natividad, the recent winners of the Tortugas Open, and La Irenita Grand Champions were victorious in the opening day of the 129th. Hurlingham Open, the second leg of the Argentine Triple Crown, following their respective wins against La Irenita Clinova and Cria La Dolfina. Games were played at the AAP Headquarters, in Pilar, on Tuesday October 11. The tournament sees eight teams between 29 and 39 goals, in participation.

In the first match, reigning champions, La Natividad, went head-to-head against La Irenita Clinova, in a clash that was quite tough for the Castagnola brothers’ foursome, as they were taken by surprise by La Irenita Clinova’s very good performance. The first four chukkas were indeed very tight, with consecutive ties, until La Natividad were able to take off in the fourth chukka, when they claimed the lead; however, the gap was too close, no more than two goals in favour of the title holers. Jeta Castagnola decided the match in the last chukka with a fantastic goal. It was followed by a penalty conversion by Bautista Bayugar, but La Natividad had already secured a hard fought 11-9 win.

Up next, La Irenita Grand Champions beat Cría La Dolfina 11-9, with Pablo MacDonough’s foursome providing a remarkable performance. La Irenita dominated the first two chukkas, but halfway the third chukka, Cría La Dolfina closed the gap through a field goal by Jejo Taranco and a penalty conversion by Diego Cavanagh. However, La Irenita replied very quickly, through Juan Martín Zubía (2) and Fran Elizalde. From then onwards, the match belonged to La Irenita Grand Champions – in fact, halfway the sixth chukka they had a commanding 11-4 lead. But it was Tomás Panelo who produced two unanswered goals to close the gap, and one more in the last chukka. Guillermo Terrera added a couple more, but it was Juan Britos who sealed the deal for Pablo and Co.



La Natividad: Camilo Castagnola 10 (8, 5 penalties and 1 corner), Pablo Pieres 10 (1), Bartolomé Castagnola Jr. 10 (1) e Ignatius du Plessis 9 (1). Total: 39.

La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8 (1 goal), Tomás Fernández Llorente (h) 8 (2), Bautista Bayugar 8 (5, 4 penalties), Isidro Strada 8 (1 penalty). Total: 32.

Score La Natividad: 1-1, 2-2, 4-4, 5-5, 8-6, 9-8, 11-9. 

Jmpires: Federico Martelli & Gonzalo López Vargas.                       Third man: Martín Aguerre.


La Irenita Grand Champions: Juan Britos 9 (3 goals, 2 penalties), Francisco Elizalde 9 (4), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (2), Juan Martín Zubía 8 (3, 1 penalty). Total: 36.

Cría La Dolfina: Guillermo Terrera 9 (3 goals), Tomás Panelo 8 (3), Diego Cavanagh 8 (2 penalties), Alejo Taranco 8 (1). Total: 33.

ScoreLa Irenita Grand Champions: 3-1, 5-2, 6-4, 8-4, 9-4, 11-6, 12-9.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & Guillermo Villanueva                           Third man: Matías Baibiene.

The 129th. Hurlingham Open will resume on Wednesday October 11, as follows: 

1,30pm: Ellerstina vs. La Irenita GSquared 

Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres Jr. 9, Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.

La Irenita Gsquared: Santiago Loza 8, Segundo Bocchino 7, Martín Podestá 7, Felipe Dabas 7. Total: 29.

Umpires: Matías Baibiene & Rafael Silva.                                           Third man: José Ignacio Araya.

4pm: La Dolfina Saudi vs. La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus

La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso 10, David Stirling 10, Adolfo Cambiaso Jr. 9, Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 39.

La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola 8, Alfredo Bigatti 9, Guillermo Caset 9, Jerónimo del Carril 8. Total: 34.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & Martín Pascual.                                     Third man: Martín Aguerre.

The final of the 129th. Hurlingham Open is set to be played on Saturday October 29. 

129th. Hurlingham Open – Fixture & Teams

Cover photo by Matías Callejo.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.