Barrière Deauville Polo Cup 2022: The first two titles awarded

The first two winners of the Barrière Deauville Polo Cup 2022 are known: the Luxembourg team Augustinus Bader for the Ladies Cup and Barrière for the venerable Silver Cup. On the women‘s part, this final was a remake of the tournament‘s opening game: same opponents, same exact verdict: 8 to 4 ½

Barrière Deauville Polo Cup 2022: The first two titles awarded
Lia Salvo, Anais Rezkallah, Aurelie Molitor, Paloma Lauro and Adèle Renauldon winners of the Ladies Cup 2022. © R&B Presse / Pascal Renauldon

Led by Lia Salvo, Augustinus Bader, the team already held all the information to overcome GCA Group, whose game is very physical yet the Luxembourg team decided to play it differently. Thanks to their strong horse string, they were able to play a game of small passes and escape from the pack thanks to the speed and handling ability of their ponies. This was the second title for Lia Salvo, already a winner in Deauville in 2018, as was her father in the Gold Cup in 1986! Lia Salvo was of course nominated most valuable player of the final and the tournament. But a game is never won alone and one of Lia’s strengths is to use the best qualities of her teammates. A plan that revealed the talent of the young Paloma Lauro (15 years), very efficient in the attack.

Barrière Deauville Polo Cup 2022: The first two titles awarded
Isabelle Larenaudie, Ramiro Zavaleta, Martin Aguerre jr. and Simon Zavaleta lifting the Silver Cup in Deauville.  © R&B Presse / Pascal Renauldon

The other final of the day, the Silver Cup, offered the public some great battles, spectacular and fast actions, an open play, a great show, in short, great polo. Martin Aguerre, who substituted for Juan-Gris Zavaleta, who just had a child, quickly found his bearings with the Zavalata brothers and after being noticeably dominated at the beginning of the game, Barriere took the score board from the second chukker to finish the fourth with a comfortable lead: 8 to 4 ½. That‘s when Mungo, in the fifth, began a stunning remontada… yet they ended up missing victory by just half a goal. It was a great start for Isabelle Larenaudie who played this level for the first time! She even scored a goal which turned out to be important for the final score: 8 to 7 ½.

After these first two beautiful finals, it‘s time for the Marta and Lucien Barrière Gold Cup on Monday 15th August (17H00) with a first game for the Diane Barrière Desseigne Trophy which promises to be a remake of the 2021 final, between the title holder, Dragones and Mungo.

Ladies Cup

Augustinus Bader
Paloma Lauro (2, 4 goals)
Aurélie Molitor (0)
Anais Rezkallah (1, replaced Adèle Renauldon,  injured in the semi-final)
Lia Salvo (9, 4 goals)

Groupe GCA
Marion Ambrosetti (2)
Lila Guérin (1, 1 goal)
Alicia Prat (1, 2 goals)
Maru Gimenez (5, 1 goal)

MVP : Lia Salvo

Progress Augustinus Bader
(1 ½ goal advantage for Groupe GCA)
3/2 ½ -5/2 ½ – 6/2 ½ and 8/4 1/2 )

Coupe d’Argent

Isabelle Larenaudie (0, 1 goal)
Ramiro Zavaleta (4, 2 goals)
Martin Aguerre jr.(7, 4 goals)
Simon Zavaleta (5, 1 goal)

Ulysse Eisensteter (0, 1 goal)
Juan Cruz Greguoli (4, 1 goal)
Pierre Henri N’Goumou (6, 3 goals)
Tete Storni (5, 2 goals)

Meilleur cheval argentin
Embrujo Tarentella (ridden by Simon Zavaleta)

Best Playing Pony
Silver Is Gold (ridden by Pierre-Henri N’Goumou)

MVP : Pierre-Henri N’Goumou

Progress Barrière : 1/1 ½ – 4/3 ½ – 6/3 ½ – 8/4 ½ et 8/7 ½

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.