Black Bears won the Indian Empire Shield

Black Bears took a narrow 7-6 win over Emlor Black and claimed the prestigious Indian Empire Shield, the trophy that dates back to the early 1920’s, following the final that took place on Saturday July 16, on The Castle Ground, at Guards Polo Club. The tournament started on June 30 and saw twelve teams up to 16 goals, compete. Lineups were split in three leagues.

Jimbo Fewster was named MVP, while Pire Blanca Nieves, ridden by José Araya, took BPP honors.

The Subsidiary went to Four Quarters Black, after defeating Altamira K.


BLACK BEARS 7-6 EMLOR BLACK Castle Ground, Flemish Farm)

Black Bears: Guy Schwarzenbach 2, Ollie Cudmore 6, James Fewster 4, Patrick O’Dwyer 6. Total: 18.

Emlor Black: Juan Ambroggio 6, Richard Tyrone 5, James McCarthy 2, José Araya 4. Total: 17.

MVP: James Fewster.

BPP: Pire Blanca Nieves, ridden by José Araya.


Indian Empire Shield, Final

Indian Empire Shield, Subsidiary final

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.