British Open; First win for Thai Polo NP, Dubai remain unbeaten

On Thursday June 30, Thai Polo NP and Dubai scored significant wins against King Power and Park Place, respectively, after a new league round of the British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup, hosted by Cowdray Park Polo Club, set in Midhurst, West Sussex, The tournament sees fourteen teams up to 23 goals, compete.

Thai Polo – with Martín Podestá subbing in for Genaro Ringa, earned a narrow 9-8 win over King Power, in a very tight contest, that saw consecutive ties in the first two chukkas. Despite Thai Polo NP took the lead by half time, King Power made a comeback and at the start of the sixth period, they secured a 8-6 advantage. However, Thai Polo NP managed to seize the reins in the last chukka; they hold King Power back, in order to outscore them 2-0 which brought the match to an 8-all in regulation time, that forced an extra chukka. It was in OT when Thai Polo NP produced the winning goal to seal the deal and earn their first win in the tournament.

Later in the afternoon, two of the most remarkable organisations in British polo met up – Dubai and Park Place. But it was Dubai who remained undefeated after a 17-14 victory over Park Place. Led by a brilliant Camilo Castagnola, who scored no less than ten goals, Rashid Albwardy’s lineup didn’t have any trouble at all to dominate Andrey Borodin’s team. Dubai had a powerful start, by earning a quick 4-0 in the first chukka, and widened their advantage thoroghout the six chukkas of play. Park Place stepped into the last chukka three goals behind, and despite they managed to produce three goals, the efforts didn’t pay off – Dubai remained within the game and quickly scored three goals to secure the win.


THAI POLO NP 9-8 KING POWER (extra chukka)

Thai Polo NP: Charlie Hanbury 4 (1 goal), Martín Podestá 7* (3), Ned Hine 5 (3), Jared Zenni 6 (2). Total: 22

King Power: Top Srivaddhanaprabha 1, James Harper 7 (1 goal), Nicolás Pieres 9 (6), Mackenzie Weisz 5 (1). Total: 22.

Score Thai Polo NP: 2-2, 3-3, 4-3, 5-6, 6-8, 8-8, 9-8.

Umpires: Peter Wright & Ben Turner.

Third man: Jason Dixon.

*Subbed in for Genaro Ringa 7.


Dubai: Rashid Albwardy 1, Matt Perry 6 (1 goal), Camilo Castagnola 9 (10), Jerónimo del Carril 7 (5). Total: 22.

Park Place: Joshua Hyde 1 (1 goal), Louis Hine 4, Facundo Pieres 10 (9), Francisco Elizalde 8 (3). Total: 22.

Score Dubai: 4-0, 6-4, 9-5, 12-7, 14-11, 17-14.

Umpires: Peter Wright & Jason Dixon.

Third man: Ben Turner.

The British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup will resume on Friday July 1, with a single match: 

12pm: Talandracas vs. Twelve Oaks

The final of the British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup is set to be played on Sunday, July 17. 

British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup – Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.