English 22 Goal Season Begins Next Month

13 confirmed teams so far

With spring upon us, the English outdoor season is about to get underway, with the pinnacle of this being the 22 goal. The first of the 22 goal tournaments to kick off will be the Prince of Wales Trophy at the Royal County of Berkshire Polo Club on Saturday 30 April, which will continue through until Saturday 14 May. Next-up on the schedule is The Trippetts Challenge at Trippetts/ Cowdray Park Polo Club (6 – 15 May), The Cartier Queen’s Cup at Guards Polo Club (17 May – 12 June), The Warwickshire Cup at Cirencester Park Polo Club (14 – 18 June), The Gold Cup for The British Open at Cowdray Park Polo Club (21 June – 17 July) and The Talacrest Prince of Wales Championship Cup at Guards Polo Club (1 – 14 August). 

The 2022 season will see the return of some familiar teams as well as the addition of some new names, with a few more line-ups expected to be announced before the start of the season. 

Park Place are entering not one but two teams with the addition of Park Place Vaara to their stable, with each team featuring an Ellerstina 10 goaler – Facundo Pieres for Park Place and Hilario Ulloa for Park Place Vaara. 2021 Queen’s Cup runners-up, Scone, will be returning with both Adolfo and Poroto Cambiaso alongside patron David Paradice, while the fourth player is still being decided. Once again, the Castagnola brothers will be featuring in different teams, Barto for 2021 Cartier Queen’s Cup champions UAE Polo, while Jets will join Dubai who are back after a two year absence. 2021 Gold Cup winners, James Harper and Nico Pieres will be playing together again, but this year for King Power rather than Thai Polo, who have yet to confirm if they will be competing. 2020 Cartier Queen’s Cup champions, Great Oaks, have put together a new team; Dillon Bacon will be joined by James Beim and Juan Martín Nero. Medium goal regulars, Charlie Wooldridge’s Twelve Oaks, are taking part in the 22 goal for the first time. La Magdeleine and Corinne Ricard’s Murus Sanctus will be representing France and Alejandro Aznar’s Marqués de Riscal, winners of the 2021 high goal Gold Cup in Sotogrande, will be taking part in the British high goal for the first time. 

Alessandro Bazzoni’s Monterosso returns again, this time with the addition of Matias ‘Colo’ González, who has enjoyed a successful season in the ongoing Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series. 

English 22 Goal Teams:

Park Place: Andrey Borodin, Facundo Pieres, Fran Elizalde & Will Harper

Park Place Vaara: Josh Hyde, Hilario Ulloa, Juan Britos & Santos Merlos

UAE: Barto Castagnola, Lukin Monteverde, Tommy Beresford & HH Sheikha Maitha

Dubai: Rashid Albwardy, Camilo Castagnola, Matt Perry & Jerónimo Del Carril

Great Oaks: Dillon Bacon, Cruz Heguy, James Beim & Juan Martín Nero

La Magdeleine: Alexandre Garese, Pablo Macdonough, Facundo Fernández Llorente & Ollie Cudmore

Murus Sanctus: Corinne Ricard, Facundo Sola, Marcos Araya & Alfredo Cappella

King Power: Top Srivaddhanaprabha, Nico Pieres, Mackenzie Weisz & James Harper

Marqués de Riscal: Alejandro Aznar, Santiago Cernadas, Santiago Laborde & Guillermo Caset

Scone: David Paradice, Adolfo Cambiaso, Poroto Cambiaso & TBC

Twelve Oaks: Charlie Wooldridge, Joaquin Pittaluga, Magoo Laprida & John Paul Clarkin

Monterosso: Alessandro Bazzoni, Cubi Toccalino, Pelon Stirling & Matías Gonzalez

Monterosso Vikings: Siri Bazzoni, Mark Tomlinson, Diego Cavanagh & Juan Martin Zubia

Photograph: The Talacrest Prince of Wales Championship at Guards Polo Club will round off the English 22 goal season. By ©www.imagesofpolo.com

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.