La Irenita Win Republica Cup

Success for youngsters in Final
On Tuesday 29 March at the Number 1 field at Palermo, La Irenita secured themselves The Republica Cup with a 14-13 win against La Chavita. La Irenita went into the Final with a seven goal handicap advantage, stacking the odds against their opponents from the outset. Despite this, La Chavita fought back and by the end of regulation play had managed to level the scores, 13-13, pushing the match into an extra chukka. Matías Mac Donough scored the golden goal to secure victory for La Irenita, later being named Most Valuable Player. This is the first Republica Cup title for the four players, with three players being only 18-years-old and Federico Panzillo just 20-years-old. A full report will follow in the next issue of Polo Times

The Republica Cup Final Teams:La Irenita (11): Mateo Sánchez Herrero (0), Tomás Delfino (2), Federico Panzillo (5) & Matías Mac Donough (4) La Chavita (18): Gastón Bardengo (3), Franco Veronesi (3), Joaquín Pittaluga (7) & Ignacio Acuña (5) 

 Photograph: La Irenita, winners of The Republica Cup. By AAP

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.