N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo : L Atangba’s heroics propel X-Polo Club into semis

X-Polo Club will lock horns with Chingkheihunba Polo Club (CHPC) in a semi-final match of the ongoing 36th N Hazari and Dr N Tombi State Polo Tournament, 2022 .

In the first quarter final match of the tournament, X-Polo Club, Wangkhei cruised to a 12-3 win over K&MM Riding SChool-A, Singjamei to book their semi-final slot as L Atangba stole the show hammering home seven goals alone.

L Kokeshwor opened the scoring in the fifth minute to hand X-Polo Club a slender lead only to be equalised by K&MM RS-A with L Dhaneshwor converting a rare penalty a few seconds later.

L Tarun then overturned the lead in the 6th minute to make it 2-1 at the end of the first chukker.

L Atangba then produced a prolific show by chipping in five of five goals alone in the second chukker to give X-Polo Club a 6-2 lead.

Atangba scored his two remaining goals in between L Tolongkhomba and P Ojit Singh’s singles in the third chukker which also saw W Johny scored the third goal for the losing side.

Tolongkhomba and Ojit then found a goal each in the final chukker to hand X-Polo Club the 12-3 victory.

In the second quarter final match, Th Kaoba scored thrice and L Thomson scored twice to help CHPC seal a 7-3 win over Thangmeiband Youth Polo Club and set up a semi-final date with X-Polo Club.

Th Basanta and O Rozer also scored a goal each in CHPC’s win as Th Nongpoknganba scored one and S Saolin scored twice in the first chukker for the Thangmeiband team.

Imphal Riding Club-A will play Assam Rifles Polo Team, Keithelmanbi in the third quarter final match tomorrow before Tekcham Polo Club take on Manipur Police Sports Club-B in the last quarter final match.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.