Queen’s Cup: Opening wins for Park Place Vaara and Dubai

The Queen’s Cup kicked off on Tuesday May 17, and saw Park Place Vaara and Dubai victorious, the latter in their comeback to the tournament hosted by Guards Polo Club after a three years absence. The Queen’s Cup sees fifteen teams up to 22 goals, competing for the coveted trophy.

In the opening match, Park Place Vaara claimed a massive 20-11 win over Thai Polo NP, with ten goals producec by Hilario Ulloa. For Thai Polo NP, who featured a couple of changes within their lineup (César Crespo and Louis Charles Hine subbed in for Lucas Criado Jr and Simón Prado, respectively), it was indeed a tough blow, as they were unable to stop Park Place Vaara’s overwhelming performance. Park Place Vaara had already the situation all said and done and well under control, with the scoreboard reading an impressive 19-7 win with only one chukka remaining, and only needed one more goal to seal the deal.

In the meantime, the second game was a very different story. Dubai, in their comeback to the Queen’s Cup, had to struggle to capture a 12-11 victory over La Magdeleine. Following consecutive ties in the two first chukkas, Dubai claimed the lead in the third, and widened their advantage in the following chukkas. They were 10-7 ahead at the start of the sixth and last chukka. But nothing is over until is over: La Magdeleine put a strong pressure over Dubai in that decisive chukka, and managed to find the flags four times to bring the game back within one goal following a superb long distance goal by Pablo MacDonough (who’s also back to British high goal). But the clock was running quickly and, and despite the efforts, luck was on Rashid Albwardy’s lineup who secure a crucial first win.



Park Place Vaara: Joshua Hyde 0 (3 goals), Santos Merlos 4 (2), Hilario Ulloa 10 (10), Juan Britos 8 (5). Total: 22.

Thai Polo NP: Ned Hine 5 (7 goals), Lucas Criado Jr 5*, Agustín Merlos 7 (2), Simón Prado (5)**. Total: 22.

*Subbed in by César Crespo 6 (1 goal).

** Subbed in by Louis Charles Hine 4 (1 goal).

Score Park Place Vaara: 4-2, 5-3, 8-6, 14-7, 19-7, 20-11.

Umpires: Howard Smith & Julian Appleby.

Third man: Tim Bown.

BPP UK: Gurí Española, ridden by Santos Merlos.


Dubai: Rashid Albwardy 1 (2 goals), Matt Perry 5 (2), Camilo Castagnola 9 (5), Jerónimo del Carril 7*. Total 22.

La Magdeleine: Alexandre Garese 0, Ollie Cudmore 6 (1 goal), Pablo MacDonough 9 (9), Facundo Fernández Llorente 7**. Total: 22.

*Subbed in by Guillermo Terrera 7 (1 goal).

**Subbed in by Martín Podestá 7 (1 goal).

Score Dubai: 2-2, 4-4, 7-5, 8-6, 10-7, 12-11.

Umpires: Tim Bown & Jason Dixon.

Third man: Julian Appleby.

The Queen’s Cup will be back on Wednesday May 18, with the following order of play:  

11,30am: Twelve Oaks vs. Monterosso (Castle Ground)

3pm: King Power vs. Marqués de Riscal (Noel Farm- SL6 2NW)

The final of the Queen’s Cup is set to be played on Sunday, June 12.  

The Queen’s Cup – Teams & Fixture


Park Place Vaara vs. Thai Polo NP

Dubai vs. La Magdeleine

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.