Queen’s Cup: Road to the final begins

It is the final countdown for the Queen’s Cup. The much anticipated semifinals of the prestigious tournament are set to be played on Wednesday June 8, with four teams battling to earn a spot in the championship match. The Queen’s Cup sees fifteen teams up to 22 goals, competing for the coveted trophy.

Park Place, Great Oaks Les Lions, La Magdeleine and Park Place Vaara are the four lineups who will go head-to-head for the two tickets to one of the most significant tournaments of the international calendar of polo. These are Andrey Borodin’s two foursomes (Park Place – runner up in 2018, 2019 and 2020 – and Park Place Vaara); Great Oaks Les Lions, winners of the Queen’s Cup in 2020, and the recent runner up of the Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Trophy; and La Magdeleine, one of the most pleasant surprises of the tournament, Alexandre Garese’s French foursome which lineup includes Pablo MacDonough’s comeback to British high goal. Indeed, these semifinals promise great polo, no doubts at all.

The order of play of the Queen’s Cup semifinals is as follows:

12pm, Hubert Perrodo Trophy: Park Place vs. Great Oaks Les Lions (The Duke’s Ground).

Park Place: Andrey Borodin 0, William Harper 4, Facundo Pieres 10, Francisco Elizalde 8. Total: 22.

Great Oaks Les Lions: Dillon Bacon 0, Cruz Heguy 4, James Beim 7, Juan Martín Nero 10. Total: 22.

4pm, The Kerry Packer Trophy: La Magdeleine vs. Park Place Vaara (The Queen’s Ground).

La Magdeleine: Alexandre Garese 0, Ollie Cudmore 6, Pablo MacDonough 9, Facundo Fernández Llorente 7*. Total: 22.

*Subbed in by Martín Podestá 7.

Park Place Vaara: Joshua Hyde 0, Santos Merlos 4, Hilario Ulloa 10, Juan Britos 8. Total: 22.

The final of the Queen’s Cup is set to be played on Sunday, June 12.  

The Queen’s Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.