The Cowdray Gold Cup has begun!

Opening wins for Scone, UAE, Park Place Vaara & Dubai

Over the next four weeks, 30 matches will be played with the Semi Finals taking place on Wednesday 13 July and the Final being played on Sunday 17 July, with 14 teams competing to lift the prestigious Cup. A promising number of English professionals will feature in this year’s tournament including Tommy Beresford, Matt Perry, James Beim, James Harper, Ned Hine, Charlie Hanbury, Mark Tomlinson, Josh Hyde and Louis Hine. For a third year, the Club has collaborated with Polo Cam and InPlayer, the world’s leading pay per view subscription solution, to bring the best polo the UK has to offer to fans unable to attend the games. All Gold Cup matches will be live streamed via Cowdray TV with thousands of viewers tuning in from all over the world. The action began with a 10-8 win for UAE vs King Power while the second match of the inaugural day of competition saw an extra chukka clincher for Scone vs Monteross, 14-13. The action continued today with a 15-9 win for Park Place Vaara against Vikings and the second match of the second day saw Dubai defeat Murus Sanctus by 17 to 13.

The Cowdray Gold Cup Teams:

King Power (22): Aiyawatt Srivaddhanaprabha (1), Mackenzie Weisz (5), Nico Pieres (9) & James Harper (7)

UAE (22): H.H. Sheikha Maitha (0), Lucas Jr Monteverde (6), Bartolome Castagnola (9) & Tommy Beresford (7)

Monterosso (22): Alessandro Bazzoni (1), Matias Gonzalez (4), Ignacio Toccalino (8) & Pablo Mac Donough(9)S

cone (22): David Paradice (0), Rosendo Torreguitar (4), Adolfo ‘Poroto’ Cambiaso Jnr (8), Adolfo Cambiaso (10)

Park Place Vaara (22): Sam Wisbey (0), Juan Britos (8), Hilario Ulloa (10) & Santos Merlos (4)

Vikings (22): Siri Evjemo-Nysveen (0), Mark Tomlinson (6), Diego Cavanagh (8) & Juan Martin Zubia (8)

Dubai (22): Camilo Castagnola (9), Rashid Albwardy (1), Matt Perry (5) & Jeronimo del Carril (7)

Murus Sanctus (22): Corinne Ricard (0) & Marcos Araya (6), Facundo Sola (8), Alfredo Cappella (8)

Thai Polo NP (22): Charlie Hanbury (4), Genaro Ringa (7), Ned Hine (5) & Jared Zenni (6)

Great Oaks Les Lions (23): James Beim (6), Dillon Bacon (2), Juan Martin Nero (9) & Cruz Heguy (6)

Park Place (23): Josh Hyde (1), Louis Hine (4), Francisco Elizalde (8) & Facundo Pieres (10)

Talandracas (22): Alejandro Muzzio (7), Pablo Pieres (9), Isidro Strada (6) & Edouard Carmignac (0)

Twelve Oaks (22): Charlie Wooldridge (1), Joaquin Pittaluga (7), Cristian Laprida (8) & John Paul Clarkin (6)

Marqués de Riscal (22): Alejandro Aznar (0), Guillermo Caset (9), Santiago Cernadas (7) & Santiago Laborde (6) 

Photograph: Undeterred by obstacles such as broken sticks, King Power battled until the last, but UAE took their first win of the tournament. By ©Mark Beaumont

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.