Tortugas Open: La Natividad and La Dolfina Saudi qualify to semifinals

On Tuesday September 27, La Natividad and La Dolfina Saudi were victorious over La Irenita Clinova and La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus, respectively, and earned the first spots in the semifinals of the 82nd. Tortugas Open, the first leg of the much anticipated Triple Crown in Argentina, the most coveted and prestigious polo trophy worldwide. The Tortugas Open is underway at Tortugas Country Club, and sees eight teams between 29 and 39 goals, in participation.

Therefore, the two Cañuelas based teams will go head-to-head for a place in the championship match on Saturday October 1.  

In the opening match, La Natividad defeated La Irenita Clinova by an impressive 18-10, commanded by an extraordinary Camilo Castagnola. In his first match as a 10-goaler in Argentinian high goal, Jeta, as he is known, produced no less than 13 goals for the green jerseys, current title holders of the Hurlingham Open and the Argentine Open. However, La Irenita Clinova proved to be a tough contender for La Natividad, especially during the first half; by the end of the third chukka, La Natividad managed to take a slight 6-5 lead. But from the fourth chukka on, La Natividad seized the reins, and started to widen their advantage, which eventually led them not only to a remarkable win but also to earn the first ticket to semifinals.

A very much expected game followed – La Dolfina Saudi vs. La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus, a contest that brought some extra spice – it marked Poroto Cambiaso’s debut in the Triple Crown playing alongside his father, Adolfo, as well as Juan Martín Nero’s comeback to La Dolfina Saudi. At the same time, Nero clashed against the team heplayed with last year, however under a different name for this season, as La Ensenada and Murus Sanctus joined forces to form La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus.

Perhaps many expected a close game, but La Dolfina Saudi had another ideas in mind. The Cañuelas boys displayed their best polo, with all four team members fitting to perfection. That allowed them to dominate the scoreboard thoroghout the seven chukkas of play, while La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus struggled to remain in the game, mostly thanks to Guillermo Caset’s goals. But La Dolfina Saudi were merciless; they shut all the doors and left La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus unable to find the flags in the last three chukkas. And perhaps it is worth noting Poroto Cambiaso’s remarkable performance in his debut in the Triple Crown with the legendary multiple champions. Poroto provided great plays, accurate stick-and-ball and scored a total of five goals, the top scorer of the match behind his father, who produced six.



La Natividad: Camilo Castagnola 10 (13 goals, 6 penalties), Pablo Pieres 10 (3), Bartolomé Castagnola Jr 10, Ignatius du Plessis 9 (2). Total: 39.

La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8 (3 goals), Tomás Fernández Llorente Jr 7,  Bautista Bayugar 8 (2), Isidro Strada 8 (5, 4 penalties). Total: 31.

Score La Natividad: 2-2, 5-3, 6-5, 9-6, 12-7, 14-9, 18-10.

Umpires: Gonzalo López Vargas & José I. Araya.                  Third man: Hernán Tasso.


La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (6 goals, 1 corner), David Stirling 10 (1), Adolfo Cambiaso Jr. 9 (5, 2 peanalties), Juan Martín Nero 10 (3). Total: 39.

La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola 8 (1 goal), Alfredo Bigatti 9, Guillermo Caset 9 (5, 3 penalties), Jerónimo del Carril 8. Total: 34.

Score La Dolfina Saudi: 4-1, 4-2, 8-3, 9-4, 11-6, 14-6, 15-6.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & Rafael Silva.                                 Third man: Federico Martelli.


82nd. Tortugas Open, QF Day 1

82nd. Tortugas Open, QF#1 – La Natividad vs. La Irenita Clinova

82nd. Tortugas Open, QF#2 – La Dolfina Saudi vs. La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus

The 82nd. Tortugas Open will resume on Wednesday September 28, with the remaining quarter finals:  

1,30pm: Ellerstina vs. La Irenita GSquared

Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres Jr,  Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.

La Irenita Gsquared: Santiago Loza 8, Segundo Bocchino 7, Martín Podestá 7, Felipe Dabas 7. Total: 29.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva Jr & Federico Martelli.         Third man: Hernán Tasso.

4pm:  La Irenita Grand Champions vs. Cria La Dolfina

La Irenita Grand Champions: Juan Britos 9, Francisco Elizalde 9, Pablo Mac Donough 10, Juan Martín Zubía 8. Total: 36.

Cría La Dolfina: Rufino Bensadón 8, Tomás Panelo 8, Diego Cavanagh 8, Alejo Taranco 8. Total: 32.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & Martín Pascual.                            Third man: José I. Araya.

The final of the Tortugas Open is set to be played on Saturday October 8.  

82nd Tortugas Open – Fixture & Teams

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.