Trible Crown

The Argentine Polo Association (AAP) presented the Triple Crown composed of the 82nd Abierto del Tortugas C. C., the 129° Abierto RUS del Hurlingham Club and the 129° Abierto Argentino de Polo HSBC, bringing together the most outstanding polo players in the world.

In this special year, in which the AAP celebrates its first 100 years, Nicolás Occhiato, host of Luzu TV and El Último Pasajero, and Gustavo Sgalla, journalist of ESPN, were the masters of ceremonies of the event in which polo players from each of the teams that will participate in this great event were present.

Eight formations will play the tournaments of Tortugas and Hurlingham: La Natividad -defending champion in Palermo and Hurlingham-, La Dolfina, Ellerstina, La Irenita I, II and III; La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus and La Dolfina II. Eight other teams will play the Palermo Open Qualification for the two vacant places: Chapaleufú, El Overo Z7 UAE, La H, La Cañada, Alegría, La Esquina, La Fija and Trenque Lauquen.

The Tortugas tournament, which takes place in the oldest country in South America, will take place between September 27 and October 8; Hurlingham between 11 and 29 October; and Palermo between 1 November and 2 December. For those interested in attending, tickets are already on sale through Ticketek.

“This is a year of good news: the Association is turning 100 years old, but we are pure future. In May, our Triple Crown was declared of “National Interest” and today we are already presenting a new edition that will be unmissable, both for polo fans and for those who live it for the first time, “said Delfín Uranga, president of the Argentine Polo Association. “These three tournaments are unique in the world, as they bring together among their protagonists 9 players who have the 10 handicap goals,” he added.

The AAP is the mother entity of sport in Argentina and a benchmark in the world. The polo industry is an exporter of manufacturing and talent and currently generates more than 50,000 direct employees, and 100,000 indirect employees.


After the draw, it was confirmed that in Palermo will integrate zone A the formations of La Natividad, La Irenita, La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus, La Irenita GSquared and the classified team of group A; while in the B will be Ellerstina, La Dolfina, La Dolfina II, La Irenita Clinova and the remaining set emerged from the classification (G. B).

Then, the Quarterfinal crossings for the Turtles contest were confirmed, which will be the following: The Nativity vs. The Irenita Clinova; La Dolfina vs. La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus; Ellerstina vs. The Irenita GSquared; and La Irenita vs La Dolfina II.

As for the Hurlingham Open, the zones will be assembled according to the results obtained in the Tortugas Open.


82° Abierto del Tortugas C. C.

DATE 1: Tuesday 27/9

DATE 2: Wednesday 28/9

DATE 3: Saturday 1/10

DATE 4: Sunday 2/10


FINAL: Saturday 8/10

129th Hurlingham Club RUS Open

DATE 1: Tuesday 11/10

DATE 2: Wednesday 12/10

DATE 3: Saturday 15/10

DATE 4: Sunday 16/10

DATES 5 and 6: Friday 21/10

SEMIFINAL 1: Saturday 22/10

SEMIFINAL 2: Sunday 23/10

FINAL: Saturday 29/10

· Dates 1 to 6 will be played at the Alfredo Lalor Campus of the AAP in Pilar.

129th HSBC Argentine Polo Open

DATE 1: Tuesday 1/11

DATE 2: Wednesday 2/11

DATE 3: Saturday 5/11

DATE 4: Sunday 6/11

DATE 5: Saturday 12/11

DATE 6: Sunday 13/11

DATE 7: Saturday 19/11

DATE 8: Sunday 20/11

DATE 9: Friday 25/11

DATE 10: Sunday 27/11

END: Friday 2/12

· Dates 1 and 2 will be played at the Alfredo Lalor Campus of the AAP in Pilar.

The teams that will compete in the AAP Triple Crown:

The Nativity: Camilo Castagnola 10, Pablo Pieres 10, Bartolomé Castagnola (h) 10 and Ignatius du Plessis 9. Total: 39.

The Saudi Dolfina: Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10, David Stirling (h) 10, Adolfo Cambiaso (n) 9 and Juan M. Nero 10. Total: 39.

Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres (h) 9 and Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.

The Irenita: Juan Britos (h) 9, Francisco Elizalde 9, Pablo Mac Donough 10 and Juan M. Zubía 8. Total: 36.

RS Murus Sanctus La Ensenada: Facundo Sola 8, Alfredo Bigatti 9, Guillermo Caset (h) 9 and Jerónimo del Carril 8. Total: 34.

La Dolfina II: Guillermo Terrera (h) 9, Tomás Panelo 8, Diego Cavanagh 8 and Alejo Taranco 8. Total: 33.

The Irenita II: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8, Tomás Fernández Llorente (h) 7, Bautista Bayugar 8 and Isidro Strada 8. Total: 31.

The Irenita III: Segundo Bocchino 7, Santiago Loza 8, Martín Podestá (h) 7 and Felipe Dabas 7. Total: 29.

The formations that will play the qualifying contest:


Chapaleufú: Rufino Bensadón 8, Juan M. Zavaleta (h) 8, Julián de Lusarreta 7 and Tommy Beresford 7. Total: 30.

The Overo Z7 UAE: Lucas Monteverde (n) 6, Matías Torres Zavaleta 8, Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade 8 and Cruz Heguy 6. Total: 28.

The H: Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (h) 8, Carlos M. Ulloa 6, Joaquín Pittaluga 7 and Alejandro Novillo Astrada 7. Total: 28.

La Cañada: Facundo Llosa 7, Facundo Obregón 7, Lucas Díaz Alberdi 7 and Pedro Falabella (h) 7. Total: 28.

Joy: Agustín Merlos 7, Valerio Zubiaurre (h) 8, Tomás García del Río 7 and Frederick Mannix (h) 7. Total: 29.

The Corner: Pascual Sáinz de Vicuña 6, Cristian Laprida (h) 8, Lucas James 7 and Ignacio Laprida 8. Total: 29.

The Fixed: Raúl Colombres (h) 7, Ezequiel Martínez Ferrario 7, Ignacio Negri (h) 7 and Felipe Vercellino 7. Total: 28.

Trenque Lauquen: Manuel Elizalde 7, Juan Jauretche 7, Juan A. García Grossi 7 and Joao Paulo Ganon 7. Total: 28.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.