VI Women’s Argentine Open: La Dolfina claimed fourth title

La Dolfina beat La Irenita E-Movility 10-6, and won the VI Women’s Argentine Open, in the final that took place on Palermo ground number 2, on Friday December 2. Therefore, La Dolfina, led by the British-born and 10-goaler, Nina Clarkin, alongside Mia Cambiaso and the Fernández Araujo sisters, Milagros and Candelaria, have won the tournament more than any other team ever

The most important ladies tournament in the world saw eight teams, between 20 and 33 goals (ladies handicap), compete. Teams are composed of some of the best players from Argentina, United Arab Emirates, United States, France and England.

La Dolfina got off to a stronger start, with a quick 3-0 lead in the first chukka, with goals by Nina Clarkin (2) and Milagros Fernández Araujo. Thoroghout the first half – it is worth noting that the ladies Open is played on six chukkas – La Dolfina overwhelmed La Irenita E-Movility, in such a way that by half time they reached a commanding 5-1 lead.

Things would change in the second half, with La Irenita E-Movility getting into the match, in an effort to overcome the score. Hope Arellano and Milagros Sanchez produced one goal each in the fourth chukka to close gap. But La Dolfina only slowed down a bit; they bounced back in the fifth chukka, with remarkable goals by Mia Cambiaso and Candelaria Fernández Araujo. However, La Irenita E-Movility stayed firm, and with only 30 seconds in the clock, Milagros Sanchez converted a 30-yards penalty; La Dolfina was still 7-4 up with only one chukka left.

A thrilling last chukka would follow; Nina Clarkin widened La Dolfina’s gap through a penalty conversion, but La Irenita E-Movility were not about to give up that easily. With three minutes left in regulation time, Hope Arellano scored twice – one penalty and one from the field – to close the gap to two goals. There was some time to at least reach a tie and send the match into OT, but the efforts didn’t pay off. Nina Clarkin showed no mercy at all, and produced two goals to seal the deal, and secured La Dolfina the 10-6 win and the fourth title.



La Dolfina: Mía Cambiaso 7 (1 goal), Milagros Fernández Araujo 7 (2), Carina Clarkin 10 (6, 2 penalties), Candelaria Fernández Araujo 9 (1). Total: 33.

La Irenita E-Movility: Milagros Sánchez 7 (3 goals, 2 penalties), Isabelle Parsons 8, Hope Arellano 8 (3, 2 penalties), Fátima Balzano 6. Total: 29.

Score La Dolfina: 3-0, 4-0, 5-1, 5-3, 7-4, 10-6.

Umpires: Martín Aguerre & Rafael Silva.                    Third man: Hernán Tasso.


MVP – Tipa y Caña Cup: Nina Clarkin.

Top scorer: Nina Clarkin (27 goals).

Fair Play: Fátima Balzano.

BPP presented by the AAP: Corazonada, ridden by Candelaria Fernández Araujo.

Best Polo Argentino Bred, Presented by the Argentine Polo Pony Breeders Assn.: Dolfina Buenavida, ridden by Mía Cambiaso.

Cover photo by Matias Callejo/Prensa AAP.


League 1

La Dolfina BP: Mía Cambiaso 7, Milagros Fernández Araujo 7, Carina Clarkin 10 y Candelaria Fernández 9. Total: 33.

La Aguada Miranda Bosch: Mía Novillo Astrada 7, Azucena Uranga 6, Jazmín Dupont 5 e Inés Lalor 7. Total: 25.

Thai Polo: Sofía Rivas 5, Maitena Marré 6, Catalina Lavinia 6 y Sol López Llames 7. Total: 24.

Puerta Abierta Wolfpack Polo: Agustina Imaz 5, Clara Martínez Ferrario 5, Isabella Lyle Wolf 5 y Kyle Laura Sheehan 5. Total: 20.

League 2

La Irenita E-Movility: Milagros Sánchez 7, Isabelle Parsons 8, Hope Arellano 8 y Fátima Balzano 6. Total: 29.

El Overo Z7 UAE: Sheika Maitha Al Maktoum 4, Clara Cassino 8, Milly Hine 7 y Hazel Jackson 9. Total: 28.

La Ensenada Lancome: Pearl Venot 5, Lucie Venot 5, Luisa del Carril 5 y Elena Venot 7. Total: 22.

Las Bétulas Turmalina Polo: Mia Anne Bray 5, Catline Dixie 5, Sofía Lorenzo 5 y Sarah Wiseman 7. Total: 22.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.