129th Open de Paris: Kazak and Sainte Mesme qualify to the finals to the second consecutive year

Reigning champions, Kazak, and Sainte Mesme are due to play the championship match of the 129th. Open de Paris, for the second consecutive year, following their wins against Red Falcon and Los Dragones, respectively, in the last league games that were played on Saturday June 24. The prestigious tournament is underway at the exquisite and sophisticated Polo de Paris, known also as Bagatelle, located only ten minutes from the City of Lights in the Bois de Boulogne, on the banks of River Seine. The competition sees five teams up to 12 goals, partake.

In the first contest, the still undefeated Kazak – with Lucie Venot subbing in for Sébastien Aguettant – had no trouble at all to defeat Red Falcon 8-4. The second match was a very different story. Sainte Mesme and Los Dragones played a very hard fought and thrilling game, that ended up with Sainte Mesme victorious 9-8, in extra chukka.

It is worth to note that not only Kazak and Sainte Mesme are due to clash for the second consecutive year in the championship match of the Open de Paris, but also both lineups already met in the qualification stage last Sunday June 18. On that occasion, Kazak won 8-7.

Kazak and Sainte Mesme will go head-to-head in the final of the Open de Paris on Sunday June 25, at 3pm. 



KAZAK: Sébastien Aguettant 0*, Patrick Paillol  5 (1 goal), Roberto Iturrioz 2 (3), Santiago Irastorza 5 (3) Total: 12.

*Subbed in by Lucie Venot (1 goal)

RED FALCON: Tuki Ruiz Guiñazú 4 (2 goals), Guillermo Li 4 (2), Laurent Dassault 0, Matthieu Delfosse 4. Total: 12.

Score Kazak: 3-1, 3-1, 5-1, 6-3, 8-4.

Umpires: Martín Aguerre & Matias Baibiene.

SAINTE MESME 9-8 LOS DRAGONES (extra chukka)

SAINTE MESME: Robert Ström 5 (7 goals), Clemente Zavaleta 5 (1), Elouan Badarello 0 (1), Sawai Padmanabh Singh. 2. Total: 12.

LOS DRAGONES: Edouard Pan 4 (4 goals), Jota Chavanne 5 (1), Sam Sztarkman 2 (1), Alexandre Sztarkman 1 (2). Total: 12.

Score Sainte Mesme: 3-1, 3-5, 5-5, 6-7, 8-8, 9-8.

Umpires: Martín Aguerre & Matias Baibiene.


Open de Paris, Saturday June 24

129th. Open de Paris – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.