130th. Argentine Open: La Natividad to play third consecutive final

On Sunday November 26, La Natividad claimed a 17-14 win over La Ensenada and secured the second spot in the much anticipated championship match of the 13oth. Argentine Open, due on Saturday December 2. This is the third consecutive Argentine Open final for La Natividad, who will go head-to-head against reigning champions, La Dolfina Saudi, for the  coveted trophy. It is worth to note that La Natividad claimed the Argentine Open in 2021 and were the runner up in 2022; La Dolfina Saudi are the current reigning champions.

La Natividad had an overwhelming start, but slowly, La Ensenada got into the game, being crucial the third and fourth chukka. La Natividad had a 5-3 lead, and following an impressive fourth chukka, La Ensenada closed the gap to just one goal, 7-8. By half time, both teams were delivering a remarkable performance.

The Cañuelas-based foursome widened their advantage in the fifth chukka, after two unanswered goals by Facundo Pieres; however, La Ensenada never gave up. Juano Britos and Jero del Carril produced one goal each, to remain one goal behind. But by the end of that fifth chukka, Jeta Castagnola scored to widen the lead to two goals again. In the sixth chukka, La Natividad ovewhelmed La Ensenada and extended their advantage to 13-8. Later on, and with two chukkas left, the green jerseys were 14-10 up.

In the two last chukkas, La Natividad had to battle against a tough opponent, indeed. At the start of the last chukka, La Natividad had a three goal advantage (16-13); nothing was said and done yet… but at the end of the day, luck was on La Natividad’s side, who claimed the 17-14 win, and the second spot in the most coveted final of the year. Therefore, they will clash against La Dolfina Saudi next Saturday, for the most important polo trophy worldwide.

But not matter the result, it is worth noticing that La Natividad and La Ensenada played one of the best games not only of the Argentine Open but of the whole season. La Natividad were victorious, but La Ensenada proved to be up to the task, led by their most outstanding player, Jero del Carril, already renowned as one of the best players of the 2023 Argentine season.

Prior to the league B decider, Ellerstina defeated La Irenita Clinova 13-7, who needed a win to remain in the 2024 Triple Crown. As a consequence, the loss gave El Overo Z7 UAE the possibility to go to a playoff against the winner of the Cámara de Diputados Cup. The final of the Cámara de Diputados Cup is due on Thursday November 30.



Ellerstina: Bautista Bayugar 8 (4 goals, two penalties), Gonzalo Pieres Jr. 9 (4, two penalties), Nicolás Pieres 9 (4),  Ignatius du Plessis 9 (1). Total: 35.

La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8 (6 goals), Tomás Fernández Llorente Jr. 8, Matías Torres Zavaleta 8 (1), Isidro Strada 8. Total: 32.

Score Ellerstina: 3-1, 5-2, 6-2, 7-2, 8-4, 10-5, 11-5, 13-7.

Umpires: Guillermo Villanueva & Gonzalo López Vargas.       Third man:  Rafael Silva.


La Natividad: Facundo Pieres 9 (3 goals), Camilo Castagnola 10 (9, two penalties, one penalty 1), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (2),  Bartolomé Castagnola Jr. 10 (3). Total: 39.

La Ensenada: Juan Britos 9 (3 goals, one penalty), Alfredo Bigatti 9, Juan Martín Zubía 9 (3), Jerónimo del Carril 8 (8, five penalties). Total: 35.

Score La Natividad: 3-0, 5-3, 6-4, 8-7, 11-9, 14-10, 16-13, 17-14.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & Matías Baibiene.                              Third man: José Ignacio Araya.

13oth. ARGENTINE POLO OPEN: Fixture & Teams

Cover photo by Matías Callejo / Prensa AAP.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.