Iconica and Dundas qualified to the final of the Ylvisaker Cup

Iconica and Dundas qualified to the championship match of the Ylvisaker Cup, the second stage of the inaugural Florida Circuit 16-Goal Super-Series, that serves as the second qualifying leg of four prestigious tournaments – Joe Barry Memorial Cup, Ylvisaker Cup, Iglehart Cup, Continental Cup – and culminates in the Florida Circuit 16-Goal Super-Series Championship. The Ylvisaker Cup, that kicked off on Saturday January 21, sees sixteen teams up to 16 goals, broken down in four leagues, partake.

In the semifinals, that were played on Wednesday February 8, Iconica, winners of the Joe Barry Memorial Cup, defeated Tonkawa 13-10, while the undefeated Dundas (5-0) were victorious 14-9 over La Fe.

The Ylvisaker Cup, that has been played since 2003, have been set as as tribute to William “Bill” Ylvisaker, one of the pioneers of polo and several equestrian sports in the Florida area, whose contributions to the sport were significant throghout the 70s and the 80s. His career as a player include remarkable achievements –  winner of the US Open in 1972; one USPA Gold Cup; and two times winner of the Coronation Cup, in England. In addition, he served as President of the United States Polo Association (USPA) from 1970 to 1975 and has been inducted to the Museum of Polo and Hall of Fame in 1993.



Iconica: Maureen Brennan 0, Lucas Criado Jr. 6, Peke Gonzalez 6, Santos Merlos 4. Total: 16.

Tonkawa: Jeff Hildebrand 0, Cody Ellis 4, Nacho Badiola 5, Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario 7. Total: 16.


Dundas: Sarah Siegel-Magness 0, Geronimo Obregon 5, Paco de Narvaez Jr. 3, Tomas Panelo 8. Total: 16.

La Fe: Rufino Merlos 1, Francisco Elizalde 9, Roberto Bilbao 6, Todd Thurston 1. Total: 16.

Iconica and Dundas will clash for the Ylvisaker Cup on Sunday February 12, at 5pm.  

Cover photo by Agustina Fonda.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.