MPSC-C beat MPSC-B in 9-goal thriller to seal IW Dist Polo tourney title

MPSC-C defeated MPSC-B by 5-4 goals in a keenly contested clash to claim the title of the 2nd Imphal West District Polo Tournament organised by Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association at Mapal Kangjeibung today.

S Bimol scored all the five goals for the winners today as H Abung Khuman scored twice and O Suresh and T Pradeepkumar added a goal each for the runners up.

Bimol scored once and twice in the first two chukkers to give MPSC-C a 3-1 lead before scoring a goal each in the last two chukkers to give his team the narrow victory.

After Pradeepkumar opened the scoring for MPSC-B in the second chukker, H Abung Khuman scored twice in the third chukker to reduce the goal deficit.

Suresh then scored MPSC-B’s fourth goal in the last chukker but S Bimol scored the winner a few seconds before the end.

The winners were feted with a cash prize of Rs 30,000 while the runners up received Rs 20,000 .

Top scorer of the final match, S Bimol was also feted with a cash prize of Rs 1,000 sponsored by A Ibobi Sharma.

The valedictory function was attended by Bobby Waikhom, Secretary to the Governor; Dr Ksh Chourjit, chief advisor, MHRPA; T Phulen, Director YAS and N Tombi Raj, vice president, Manipur Equestrian Association as presidium members who also gave away the prizes.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.