New Florida Circuit 16 Goal Super Series

Joe Barry Memorial, Ylvisaker Cup, Iglehart Cup & Continental Cup will be qualifiers

The United States Polo Association (USPA) and participating clubs have announced the inaugural Florida Circuit 16 Goal Super Series. The Joe Barry Memorial, Ylvisaker Cup, Iglehart Cup and Continental Cup tournaments will serve as qualifiers for the Florida Circuit 16 Goal Super Series Championship, with each winning team moving on to the final event which will be held at National Polo Center – Wellington (NPC) over 5 – 9 April. Intentionally scheduled so that no two qualifiers overlap, the series encourages participation from all interested teams and strives to make playing in any and all qualifiers possible. This also ensures that each host Club will have the opportunity to take the spotlight during their qualifier and no participating club gets overshadowed. However, teams are not required to enter all four qualifying tournaments; single tournament entries are permitted.

It is hoped that the event will draw more teams into the tournaments than in previous years, “The Ylvisaker Cup, Iglehart Cup and Joe Barry Memorial have not been very well attended in regard to spectators and team participation the past few years. Often the same few teams play for the first two months. We wanted to make these events National Events to add to the prestige and attract more teams. It will be more exciting to see different teams, and we’re confident that it will bring more people into the stands.” commented USPA Executive Director of Services, Carlucho Arellano. The USPA has also announced a Florida Circuit 8 Goal Super Series which will also be played across multiple clubs and the championship held at NPC – an exciting season is ahead in America.  

Photograph: The 2023 edition of the Joe Barry Memorial will be one of four qualifying events in the inaugural Florida Circuit 16 Goal Series.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.