The Queen’s Cup is kicking off on Tuesday

A new edition of  the Queen’s Cup, Guards Polo Club’s premier tournament, is ready to commence on Tuesday May 23. The Queen’s Cup is the premier tournament of the club founded by His Royal Highness Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh on January 25 1955, whom he remained the President until his passing on April 9 2021. On this occasion, the tournament will see seventeen teams up to 22 goals, in participation, and it is worth noting that the current title holders, Great Oaks, won’t be playing this year.

The Queen’s Cup was set in 1960, in honour of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II; not only she herself gifted the trophy to the club but she has been in charge to present the awards to the winners as well. The 2023 Queen’s Cup will be the first without the presence of the longest serving monarch in British history, following her passing, last September 8.

Thoroghout its history, the Queen’s Cup has remained as one of the most coveted trophies worldwide. The first ever winners, back in 1960, were Centauros, and the current monarch, His Majesty King Charles III, claimed the cup in 1986 with Les Diables Bleus, in a lineup that included the legendary Memo Gracida. Ellerston claimed the tournament six times and holds the title for the most wins (1991, 1992, 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2008). Meanwhile, Adolfo Cambiaso has the record of having won the Queen’s Cup ten times.

The opening day of the Queen’s Cup will have the following order of play:  

11am: La Magdeleine vs. Park Place Vaara

12pm: UAE Polo vs. King Power

2pm: Black Bears vs. Surjan Indian Tigers

The final of The Queen’s Cup is set to be played on Sunday June 18.

The Queen’s Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.