The Queen’s Cup resumed win King Power and UAE Polo Victorious

Following a one-day break, the Queen’s Cup, Guards Polo Club’s premier tournament, resumed on Friday June 2 with two games. King Power and UAE Polo were victorious over Black Bears, respectively. The 2023 edition of the prestigious Queen’s Cup, hosted at the club set in Windsor Great Park, sees seventeen teams up to 22 goals, in participation.

In the opening contest, King Power and Black Bears player a very even and tight match, with both teams exchanging the leadership thoroghout the six chukkas of play. It was decided in extra chukka when Jerónimo del Carril delivered the golden goal through a Penalty 4, to seal the 10-9 victory for King Power. The second game was a complete different story – UAE Polo overwhelmed Scone since the first minute of play, mostly dominating the first two chukkas to secure a wide gap. At the end of the day, they captured an impressive 14-9 win.


PARTIDO #2: KING POWER 10-9 BLACK BEARS (extra chukka, at Noel Farm)

KING POWER: Aiyawatt ‘Top’ Srivaddhanaprabha 1 (1 goal), Nicolás Pieres 8 (4), Gonzalo Pieres Jr. 9*, Will Harper 4**. Total: 22.

*Subbed in by Jerónimo del Carril (3 goals)

**Subbed in by Manuel Elizalde (2 goals)

BLACK BEARS: Guy Schwarzenbach 2 (2 goals), Ollie Cudmore 6 (2), Antonio Heguy 5 (1), Juan Martín Nero 9 (4). Total: 22.

Score King Power: 3-1, 3-4, 5-4, 6-7, 8-7, 9-9, 10-9.

Umpires: Jason Dixon & Henry Fisher.                          Third man: Peter Wright.

MATCH #2: UAE POLO 14-9 SCONE (The Prince’s Ground)

UAE: Sheikha Maitha Al Maktoum 0 (2 goals), Lukin Monteverde 6 (3), Barto Castagnola 9 (5), Tommy Beresford 7 (4). Total: 22.

SCONE: David Paradice 0, Adolfo Cambiaso 9 (3 goals), Poroto Cambiaso 9 (4), Matías González 4 (2). Total: 22.

Score UAE Polo: 4-0, 6-2, 7-4, 10-6, 11-8, 14-8.

Umpires: Peter Wright & Howard Smith.                          Third man: Jason Dixon.

The Queen’s Cup will continue on the weekend, Saturday June 3 and Sunday June 4, with the following order of play: 


12pm: Marqués de Riscal vs. Clinova (Coworth Park)

3pm: Park Place vs. Monterosso (Duke’s Ground)


11am: Vikings vs. Twelve Oaks

1,30pm: Murus Sanctus vs. BP Polo

4pm: La Magdeleine vs. Sujan Indian Tigers

The final of The Queen’s Cup is set to be played on Sunday June 18.

The Queen’s Cup – Teams & Fixture

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.