47th NZ Polo Open

Win for Team Brinks

The 47th NZ Open was played yesterday, Sunday 18 February at Auckland Polo Club under sunny skies with a crowd of over 4,000. With polo players from all over the world including New Zealand, Australia, England and Argentina the competition between the teams was fierce, and in the end it was Brinks who defeated Ecogas 9-8 to take the title. Champion pony went to Lola, owned by Ash Reader and played by James Harper, Best Retrained Thoroughbred went to Shooter, owned by Thomas Hunt and played by Paco O’Dwyer, whilst the Most Valuable Player of the match went to Bruce Fraser of Ecogas. A full report and social pages from the day will be included in the March issue of Polo Times, click here to subscribe today.

The 47th NZ Open Final Teams:

Ecogas (16): Paco O’Dwyer (7), Glenn Sheriff (5), Bruce Fraser (2) & George Cronin (2) 

Brinks (16): Matt van den Brink (1), Bud Sorby (3), Jimbo Fewster (5) & James Harper (7)  

Photograph: Team Brinks (Jimbo Fewster, James Harper, Bud Sorby & Matt van den Brink), winners of the 47th NZ Polo Open.

By Selena Wright 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.