CV Whitney Cup: Valiente retained title

Reigning champions, Valiente, won the CV Whitney Cup for the second consecutive year, following their victory against La Dolfina by a 12-10 score, in the final that was played on Sunday February 25 at the National Polo Center, in Wellington, Florida, United States. The Gauntlet of Polo has been inaugurated in 2019 and Pilot is up-to-date the only team who claimed the three tournaments of the series in one season – CV Whitney Cup, USPA Gold Cup and US Open –precisely in the opening year, 2019. The tournament, currently underway at the National Polo Center, in Wellington, Florida, United States, sees eight teams up to 22 goals, split in four leagues, in participation.

As a consequence, the family contest saw Valiente’s flagship man, Adolfo Cambiaso, victorious over his son, Poroto, who is playing for La Dolfina, the Cambiasos’ organisation, in their first year playing high goal in the United States.

With Jesse Bray subbing in for Peke González, Valiente and La Dolfina played a very close match; Bob Jornayvaz and Co. managed to remain in the lead thoroghout the six chukkas of play, but La Dolfina remained on their tail. By the start of the last chukka, Valiente had a narrow 9-8 lead. It is worth to notice that Paco de Narvaez Jr. delivered a great performance for Valiente, adding no less than seven goals.

The two lineups fought hard in the last chukka. La Dolfina managed to earn a 10-9 advantage, but Valiente replied quickly. With 2,53 minutes left in regulation time, Adolfo Cambiaso tied at 10-all. The day’s top scorer, Paco de Narvaez Jr. converted a penalty to put Valiente back on the lead, 11-10. At the end of the day, it was Adolfo Cambiaso, and with seconds remaining, it was Adolfo Cambiaso who secured the win and the second consecutive CV Whitney Cup for Valiente.

Prior to the main final, Tamera defeated La Fe 14-8 and won the Subsidiary George Miller.



Valiente: Bob Jornayvaz 0*, Paco de Narvaez 5 (7 goals), Mariano González Jr. 7*, Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (4). Total: 22.

*Subbed in by Jesse Bray, 1 goal.

La Dolfina: Dillon Bacon 2 (1 goal), Quinn Evans 1 (1), Poroto Cambiaso 10 (4), Tomás Panelo 9 (4) . Total: 22.

Score Valiente: 1-1, 4-2, 6-4, 7-5, 9-8, 12-10.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Steve Dalton.                                    Third man: Ronnie Hayes.

MVP: Adolfo Cambiaso.

BPP: Dolfina Carola, ridden by Adolfo Cambiaso.

Best Polo Argentino Bred: Dolfina Jai, ridden by Adolfo Cambiaso.


Tamera*: Alejandro Poma 1 (3 goals), Segundo Saravi 5 (2 goals), Matías Torres Zavaleta 8 (2), Diego Cavanagh 8 (4). Total: 22.

*3 goals on Penalty 1.

La Fe*: Robi Bilbao 6**, Lucas Diaz Alberdi 6 (1 gol), Francisco Elizalde 9***, Louis Devaleix 1. Total: 22.

*2 goals on Penalty 1.

**Subbed in by Jorge Fernández Ocampo, 2 goals.

***Subbed in by Jerónimo del Carril, 3 goals.

Score Tamera: 3-2, 4-4, 6-4, 11-4, 13-6, 14-8.

Umpires: Gastón Lucero & Steve Dalton.                                 Third man: Héctor Galindo.

The Gauntlet of Polo will resume with the second leg, the USPA Gold Cup, due to kick off on Wednesday February 28.

Originally known as the U.S. Handicap, the C.V. Whitney Cup was first played in 1979. Nine years later, in 1988, the tournament was renamed for C.V. (Cornelius Vanderbilt “Sonny”) Whitney, an avid polo player, three-time winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship (1928,1937, 1938) and son of 10-goal Hall of Famer, Harry Payne Whitney.


CV Whitney Cup: February 9 – 25.

USPA Gold Cup: February 28 – March 24.

U.S. Open Polo Championship: March 22 – April 21.

Utilizing the same prize money distribution for the 2023 Gauntlet of Polo, the format guarantees a total of $200,000 in prize money. $50,000 will be awarded to each of the winning teams of the C.V. Whitney Cup and USPA Gold Cup. Similarly, $100,000 in prize money will bepresented to the winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship and any team that wins all three tournaments will be crowned the Gauntlet Champion. In keeping with the spirit of philanthropy, U.S. Polo Assn. will provide a $2,500 donation to the winner and runner-up teams of all three finals to be donated to a polo charity of their choice.

All Sunday games are due on the National Polo Center main ground.

CV Whitney Cup – Teams & Fixture

Cover photo by Agustina Fonda.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.